Music: A Guide to Library Research

 Includes these collections:

Music Index. Comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Formerly The Music Index Online provided by Harmonie Park Press, this database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. The comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music makes Music Index an invaluable resource for both novice and scholar. Music Index cites: • Book Reviews • Obituaries • News Periodicals • News and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.

Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879. Gathers publications dedicated to various aspects of music, from the sacred to the secular, from the political to the comic. Before widespread use of the printing press in the nineteenth century, the popular culture of the United States was largely an oral one, and much of it revolved around music. Often including related content on the arts, literature, and sometimes science, these periodicals show music in a larger cultural context, as music was also an important leisure activity for families and communities. Representative titles include the Family Minstrel, the Musical Journal, Trumpet Notes: A Monthly Paper Devoted to the Interests of Bands and Orchestras, Aeolian Piano Forte Journal, the Musical Miscellany, the Vox Humana, and the New Yorker Musik Zeitung.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text. Comprehensive bibliography on writings about music featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It covers over one million publications from around the world on traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects. Coverage begins in the early 19th century and extends to the present.

Naxos Music Library is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to 86,000 CDs with more than a million tracks, including both standard and rare repertoire. Genres include classical, jazz, folk, blues, nostalgia, world, contemporary instrumental, Chinese, pop and rock, gospel, spoken word, and relaxation.

NML provides access to the complete Naxos catalog, as well as the complete catalogs or selected recordings of over 400 labels such as ARC, Berlin Classics, BIS, Capriccio, Chandos, CPO, EMI Classics, Erato, Haenssler Classic, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Nave, Naxos, Nimbus, Ondine, Teldec, Vanguard Classics, Virgin Classics, and Warner Classics.

NML can be accessed from any computer, or with a iPhone/iPod Touch or Android App.

Includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, as well as The Oxford Companion to Music (2002) and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2d ed, revised (2006). Included in Oxford Music Online.