These archives require that you create an account and pay fees to access the following newspapers: Ann Arbor News, Bay City Times, Flint Journal, Grand Rapids Press, Jackson Citizen Patriot, Kalamazoo Gazette, Muskegon Chronicle, and Saginaw News.
Before using this fee-based service, check Journal Finder to see if the newspaper you are looking for is available to you free at the Thompson Library, or consult a librarian for guidance.
Archive of historical and current issues of the Detroit News, covering the years 1873 - present.
Full-text access to the complete backfile of the Detroit News, going back to 1873. Important notes about searching the Detroit News:
• Page images are available for the years 1873-1988
• When searching for content or topics between or relevant to 1873-1988, do NOT use the drop-down menu options under "Select a Field" in the Advanced Search. No article-level metadata is included for these years (i.e., there are no headlines, bylines, section headings, etc., identified). Use the default search options.
• Some web-only content is included (2005-current)
Full text articles from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, etc. Also searchable within ABI/INFORM Complete.
Coverage varies by title; 1985-present. Local & regional news coverage of corporations, private companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, industries, local markets, etc. From major business tabloids, magazines, newspapers, wire services, & others.
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
1923-present. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, and contains an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Searches content from a number of sources, including both partner content digitized by Google through their News Archive Partner Program and online archival materials that they've crawled.
Search results can include content that is freely accessible as well as content that requires a fee: be sure to check Journal Finder to see if the Thompson Library provides access to a source before paying a fee for it. Articles related to a single story within a given time period are grouped together to allow users to see a broad perspective on the topics they are searching. In addition to seeing results ranked by relevancy, users can also see a historical overview of the results by browsing an automatically generated timeline.
19th Century to Present: Which past years are covered, and what content is free, varies by each individual news source.
Full text of balanced, accurate discussions of over 250 controversial topics in the news supplemented with chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, contact information, and bibliographies including primary source documents and news editorials. Covers 1995-present.
Full-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information worldwide.
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines. Covers 1980 - present (varies by publication).
Combined access to all available ProQuest news databases, both historical and current.
Combined access to all subscribed ProQuest news source databases, including ProQuest Newsstand, Gannett Newsstand, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers, as well as ABI/INFORM Dateline, Alt-Press Watch, American Periodicals, and Ethnic NewsWatch. Includes full text of thousands of newspapers, dozens of news wire services, and many news-oriented magazines and periodicals, from the past up to the present. Includes both major and smaller English-language newspapers from around the world and across the U.S., as well as selected newspapers in Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Polish, and other languages.
Current content of the Wall Street Journal. Free personal account required. Click "more..." to create an account.
A free personal account is available for all U-M Flint affiliates. You must first create an account using the link below. After logging in using your UMICH credentials, you can create a personal account that can be accessed on desktops and mobile devices. This subscription is provided to the entire U-M Flint campus courtesy of the School of Management.
Offers nearly 70,000 streamed videos in a wide range of subject areas. Includes documentaries, feature films, news programs, and more.
Academic Video Online delivers nearly 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. The database includes includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. Distributors include CNN, PBS, A&E Television, BBC, 60 Minutes (CBS), Sony Pictures Classics, First Run Features, Documentary Educational Resources, and many others.
Collection of articles from key Chinese newspapers translated into English. Covers 2011-present.
Each week The Current Digest of the Chinese Press presents a digestible collection of articles from key Chinese newspapers on such topics as politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more. Articles are selected from a wide variety of sources in China, all of which are explicitly targeted on a domestic – not foreign – audience. Each article is carefully translated into English, with great attention given to conveying "the sense and spirit" of the Chinese text. The Current Digest of the Chinese Press provides a comprehensive, broad-survey understanding of current events as reported by mass media in the People’s Republic of China, offering readers, regardless of Chinese language ability, a much clearer (if more complex) view of the current Chinese reality.
A selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. Covers 1949-present.
The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
Compiled by Columbia University Libraries, this list of online newspapers (available without subscription) is part of a larger, on-going effort -- AFRINUL--"a union list" of African newspapers held by research libraries in North America.