The Writing Center assists in making better writers and better products. You can come in for assistance with papers for any subject and at any stage of writing: getting started, fine tuning topics, developing ideas or revising, finishing papers, and working on MLA & APA formats as well as other citation styles.
The Writing Center is located on the third floor of the library.
Track Useful Sources as You Find Them
Use a Research Log to write down information about your sources as you find them. Include citation information and stable links.
Send an article's citation information to your account with a citation management tool like Zotero or EndNote Online.
Download and save or print articles as you find them.
Most databases have ways to send articles to your email or Google Drive.
Carefully organize your bookmarks with meaningful titles. If you are trying to bookmark an article from the library's page, put the following URL string in front so that the library's proxy address will be activated: http://libproxy.umflint.edu/login?url=
Mac users: See "more info..." below for important information.
Supports these bibliographic styles:
Refman (RIS) Export
Mac users: Some people have reported issues with their EndNote accounts syncing with their laptops, e.g., in Cite While You Write. EndNote passwords do not work properly if they contain special characters ( ! and $ are especially problematic), so EndNote recommends that you change password by substituting "@" for whatever special character you were using, log back into the Word plugin, and then close Word and reopen it. This should resolve the issue. This problem seems to be specifically a Mac issue.
Downloadable tool to collect, organize, cite, and share research. Available for Windows, Mac, and Linux. Zotero does have integration into Google Docs and Microsoft 365, so this is a good alternative to Endnote.
To create a bibliography without downloading software, ZoteroBib is available.
For additional help and tutorials, check our guide to citation tools.
The APA Publication Manual offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. It includes more than 100 reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources.
The American Psychological Association's help page for APA Style. On this site, you will find tutorials, FAQs, and other resources to help you improve your writing, master APA Style, and learn the conventions of scholarly publishing.
More than 100 reference examples and their corresponding in-text citations are presented in the seventh edition Publication Manual. Examples of the most common works that writers cite are provided on this page; additional examples are available in the Publication Manual.
The only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more.
A companion to the MLA Handbook, the site provides students and educators with a host of free resources for teaching and learning the MLA’s approach to research, writing, and documentation. It offers a quick guide to citing any source according to the MLA template of core elements, a practice template, a Q&A feature with hundreds of citation examples, a blog of writing tips, guidelines for formatting a paper and avoiding plagiarism, sample papers, lesson plans, worksheets, and other classroom resources submitted by users.
This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators.
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and AMA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures, and ethical issues.
The American Chemical Society Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts, specifically in the field of chemistry.
This resource covers American Sociological Association (ASA) style and includes information about manuscript formatting, in-text citations, formatting the references page, and accepted manuscript writing style.