- Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
1982-present. Bacterial immunology, vaccinations, antibiotics, immunology.
- Biomed Central
Biomedical research articles. Free access.
- CINAHL Complete
1937-present. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters.
- County Health Rankings
Nationwide data on health indices by county. Includes statistics & rankings on mortality & morbidity, health behaviors, clinical care, social & economic factors, and physical environment.
Biomedical and pharmaceutical research from 1946-present.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
- Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module
Nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos, and articles from 2,200 general interest publications.
- Health Reference Center Academic
Nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
- MEDLINE via FirstSearch
Via FirstSearch. Covers clinical medicine, nutrition, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental medicine, toxicology, health services administration, nursing.
- Medline via ProQuest
Covers clinical medicine, nutrition, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental medicine, toxicology, health services administration, nursing.
- Medline via UM-Medsearch
Medline with a steeper learning curve, though it is worth it! Very powerful search capabilities. This link takes you to login page for Medline via UM-Medsearch. Use uniqname and Kerberos password to login. Indexes journals on all aspects of medicine and health care, including public health.
- Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report
Statistics relating to health, disease, & mortality, from the Centers for Disease Control, updated weekly.
- Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
NGC, from the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
- National Quality Measures Clearinghouse
NQMC, from the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, is a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets.
- New England Journal of Medicine
Archives of NEJM, 1812 to the present.
- ProQuest Health Management
Health administration - journal articles, dissertations
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source
Nursing and allied health - journal articles, books, videos, dissertations, etc.
- PubMed - publicly available access to Medline
A full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
STAT!Ref is an online library of electronic resources--primarily reference books--for health care students and professionals.
- UM-Medsearch (Medline through Ovid)
Medline with a steeper learning curve, though it is worth it! Very powerful search capabilities. This link connects to a login screen: use your uniqname and Kerberos password. Indexes journals in all areas of medicine, including public health.