LibGuides: ENG 112: Critical Writing and Reading: Dr. Barnett's Class

What in the World - Essay #2

These newspaper databases will help you find the sources you need to write Essay 2.

New York Times, 1851 - one month ago This link opens in a new window
To find a specific issue of the NYT, after you click this link, click "Publications" in the upper gray tool bar and then look for the option that covers 1923 - present. Then put your date(s) into the "Choose an issue to view" section.
Searchable access to the New York Times (Late Eastern Edition), from the first issue on September 18, 1851 to one month ago. Reproduces the complete full text of every issue in its original printed form, in full page images digitized from microfilm. Also incorporates indexing and subject headings from the New York Times Index, 1851-1993.

Local Michigan Newspapers

Flint Journal, 1898-present This link opens in a new window
First, select link to the Flint Journal with the date range you need. Second, change the year to your birth year. Finally, select your month and day(s) using the calendar menu.
The Flint Journal is also available on microfilm on the 1st floor of the Thompson Library, covering 1898 - 2018. These years of coverage are included in the online version, but if you need full page or article images for the years 1996 - 2017, you can scan them on the microfilm reader. If you only need the text of an article from the years 1996 - 2017, it is available in the online version.
Detroit Free Press Complete: 1831 - present This link opens in a new window
Includes all articles from all editions of the Detroit Free Press.
Combined access to all articles from all editions of the Detroit Free Press, including:
- Democratic Free Press and Michigan Intelligencer (1831-1832)
- Democratic Free Press (1832-1842, 1842-1848)
- Semi Weekly Free Press (1837)
- Daily Free Press (1842)
- Detroit Daily Free Press (1842, 1851-1858)
- Detroit Free Press (1837-1841, 1848-1851, 1858-present*)
- Detroit Free Press Blogs (2014)
Content from 2000-2007 and the most recent 3 months is available in text-only format. All other content is available in full image page reproductions that include all illustrations, ads, etc.

*There is a gap of missing content from May 1 to August 20, 1985.
Detroit News Historical and Current Collection, 1873 - present This link opens in a new window
We have access to the Detroit News through the same database as the Flint Journal.
Full-text access to the complete backfile of the Detroit News, going back to 1873. Important notes about searching the Detroit News:
- Page images are available for the years 1873-1988
- When searching for content or topics between or relevant to 1873-1988, do NOT use the drop-down menu options under "Select a Field" in the Advanced Search. No article-level metadata is included for these years (i.e., there are no headlines, bylines, section headings, etc., identified). Use the default search options.
- Some web-only content is included (2005-current)
Keyword(s): Michigan

U.S. and International Newspapers

Remember! We may not have digital access to your hometown paper for the year you need. If this happens, try a larger regional paper. Liz's hometown paper is from Peoria, IL and she had to go to a Chicago paper to find a paper from her birthdate.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from Michigan, the United States, and worldwide. Refine by location or use the "USA Source Locator Map" to find papers for specific areas of the world. Uses the same interface as the Flint Journal and the Detroit News.
Michigan publications include: Detroit News (1999-present), Flint Journal (includes 8 weekly titles) (1995-present), and several others.
QuickSearch: Journal Finder This link opens in a new window
Use this tool to search for a specific newspaper titles across all of our newspaper databases. Great to use if you know what your hometown paper is called.
Includes print and microfilm of periodicals in libraries on the Ann Arbor campus.

News & Newspapers
The library has access to many news sources through different databases and this page is a guide to them.

Career Resources - Essay #3

The following websites are great sources to help you find information about your possible careers.

Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
Profiles of hundreds of occupations and descriptions of what they do, work environment, how to become one, pay, and employment projections.

Employment | Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS has some great statistics about current and future employment sectors. Areas on interest include "Employment Projections," "Employment by Occupation," and "Employment and Worker Characteristics."

MLA Citation Help

Citation Tools
The library's guide to citation tools, including Zotero and EndNote Online.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Reserves | LB 2369 .M52 2021
Publication Date: 2021
The only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more.

The MLA Style Center
A companion to the MLA Handbook, the site provides students and educators with a host of free resources for teaching and learning the MLA’s approach to research, writing, and documentation. It offers a quick guide to citing any source according to the MLA template of core elements, a practice template, a Q&A feature with hundreds of citation examples, a blog of writing tips, guidelines for formatting a paper and avoiding plagiarism, sample papers, lesson plans, worksheets, and other classroom resources submitted by users.

Purdue OWL This link opens in a new window
Online guide to APA, MLA, and Chicago citation styles, drafting résumés, and avoiding plagiarism.

APA Citation Help

Citation Tools
The library's guide to citation tools, including Zotero and EndNote Online.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: Reference Desk | BF 76.7 .P83 2020
Publication Date: 2019
The APA Publication Manual offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. It includes more than 100 reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources.

APA Style
The American Psychological Association's help page for APA Style. On this site, you will find tutorials, FAQs, and other resources to help you improve your writing, master APA Style, and learn the conventions of scholarly publishing.
more info...less info...
We highly recommend the Style and Grammar Guidelines and the Handouts and Guides under Instructional Aids.
Reference Examples | APA Style
More than 100 reference examples and their corresponding in-text citations are presented in the seventh edition Publication Manual. Examples of the most common works that writers cite are provided on this page; additional examples are available in the Publication Manual.
APA Style Blog
The APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition. It's run by a group of experts who work with APA Style every day.
Purdue OWL | APA Style
Contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.