LibGuides: LIN 150: Taboo Language: Overview

Welcome!

Welcome to the library's course guide for LIN 150: Taboo Languages!

The resources on this page will help you with your projects and assignments. Please reach out to a librarian if you have questions about using a resource or are having difficulty finding what you need.

Textbooks on Reserve

The following book is on the Reserved Reading shelf at the Thompson Library Circulation Desk. You will be able to use it in the library for up to 2 hours at a time.

To borrow a book,

Write down its call number.
Take the call number and your M-Card to the 3rd floor circulation desk.
The circulation staff will retrieve the book and check it out to you.
After you are finished with the book, return it to the circulation desk.

You may copy pages from the book using the ITS printers in the library.

If there are additional copies of the book on the Ann Arbor campus, you can request them through Get This and take them home.

What the F by Benjamin Bergen
Call Number: P 410 .O27 B47 2016
ISBN: 9780465060917
Publication Date: 2016
Students are able to borrow this book for up to 2 hours at a time and use it in the library.

Suggested Resources

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature in linguistics and related disciplines.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED), 3rd ed. This link opens in a new window
Most complete & authoritative dictionary of the English language. 3rd edition in progress, with 2nd edition entries.
DARE: Dictionary of American Regional English This link opens in a new window
Documents regional aspects of English language usage in the U.S., including variations in words, phrases, and pronunciation.
In addition to searching, the online version of DARE allows you to browse by region using an interactive map. You can also create your own maps based on the extensive survey data and hear audio clips from over 4,000 interview recordings.

English Corpora
English Corpora is a list of the most widely used online corporas, including the Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA) and the Corpus of Historical American English (COHA).
more info...less info...
The corpora have many different uses, including:
- finding out how native speakers actually speak and write
- finding the frequency of words, phrases, and collocates
- looking at language variation and change; e.g. historical, dialects, and genres
- gaining insight into culture; for example what is said about different concepts over time and in different countries
- designing authentic language teaching materials and resources.

ProQuest Research This link opens in a new window
This wide-ranging resource, with scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers, is designed to cover the top academic subject areas extensively. Suitable for all levels, from beginning scholars to advanced researchers.
Over 5,000 magazines and journals, 1971 to present (indexing); 1987 to present (full text); coverage varies by title. All subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science, plus full text ebooks and open access content.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.

Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).

Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer.

Very Bad Words Podcast
Very Bad Words is a podcast created by producer Matt Fidler about our complex relationship with swearing and taboo language.
more info...less info...
The podcast is available online and through various streaming apps like Apple Podcasts and Stitcher.

LIN 150: Taboo Language

Your Librarian

Related Guides

Welcome!

Textbooks on Reserve

Suggested Resources