"The controversial story of the 20th Century’s first genocide. In 1915, an estimated 1.5 million Armenians were slaughtered at the hands of the Ottoman Turks." If you are OFF CAMPUS, you must LOG IN TO VIEW THE VIDEO.
Includes collection of full-text documents, video, and audio files that provide documentation and analysis of the Armenian genocide.
Includes more than 10,400 pages of archival materials; over 2,300 published monographs totaling more than 37,000 pages; 241 complete videos; more than 3,000 pages of reports, journal articles, and other full-text items; more than 1,000 images (most from The Getty); and nearly 700 links to vetted, important external websites.
The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive makes available over 54,000 video testimonies of Holocaust and genocide survivors, including Armenian, Cambodian, and Rwandan survivors.
The Visual History Archive contains 55,000 audiovisual interviews with survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides. Interviewees are primarily Jewish survivors, though the archive also includes interviews with gay/lesbian, Jehovah's Witness, and Roma and Sinta (Gypsy) survivors, survivors of eugenics policies, political prisoners, rescuers and aid providers, liberators, and war crimes trial participants.
Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the following:
• 1915 Armenian Genocide
• 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China
• Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979
• Guatemalan Genocide of the early 1980s
• 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda
• Ongoing conflict in the Central African Republic
• Contemporary acts of violence against Jews
The interviews were conducted in 62 different countries and in 41 languages and comprise the most extensive resource of its type. Each interview is fully indexed, thus allowing the viewer to search using either the assigned index terms or a free-text search. Additionally, transcripts are provided for many of the testimonies.