LibGuides: UNV 100: Never Again? Holocaust & Genocide in the 20th and 21st Century: Databases & General Resources

Databases to Start With

These databases will contain article from academic journals and some primary source documents that relate to Holocaust and genocide studies. They are created by different companies, but the basic search functions and the tools to help you save and cite articles will be similar.

Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of text and video on human rights crimes from 1900 - 2010. Users are able to search or browse by event. Major events include the Armenian genocide, the Holocaust, Cambodian genocide, Rwandan genocide, Srebrenica massacre, and Darfur.
Includes more than 10,400 pages of archival materials; over 2,300 published monographs totaling more than 37,000 pages; 241 complete videos; more than 3,000 pages of reports, journal articles, and other full-text items; more than 1,000 images (most from The Getty); and nearly 700 links to vetted, important external websites.
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window
40+ journals provides balanced coverage of both the current thought and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index (some full text, some linked full text) to scholarly literature of violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault and emotional abuse.
1971-present. Covers all aspects of violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 21,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. (Some full text articles, mostly linked full text).
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies. Covers 1975-present.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource of research, policy and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology and development, and social welfare.
Provides abstracts and bibliographic records from 2,000+ journals, books, reports, and other sources. 1970-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science, plus full text ebooks and open access content.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.

Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).

Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer.

Journals

These academic journals are where many genocide and Holocaust researchers publish their work. Some of them may be searched in the databases listed above, but not all of them. You can search in the individual journals by clicking the link and using the search box under the "Search Inside" section.

African Affairs
This peer-reviewed "inter-disciplinary journal, with a focus on the politics and international relations of sub-Saharan Africa."
African Studies Review
"A multi-disciplinary, [peer-reviewed,] scholarly journal, publishes original research and analyses of Africa."
Ethnic and Racial Studies
This peer-reviewed journal "aims to be the leading international journal for the analysis of the role of race, racism, ethnicity, migration and forms of ethno-nationalism."
Ethnicities
A "peer-reviewed [journal] with an impressive international reputation and focus... [it] provides... critical, interdisciplinary dialogue on questions of ethnicity, nationalism and related issues such as identity politics and minority rights."
Genocide Studies and Prevention
"The official journal of The International Association of Genocide Scholars... GSP is a peer-reviewed journal that fosters comparative research, important new work, case studies, the links between genocide, mass violence and other human rights violations, and prevention and punishment of genocide and mass violence."
Holocaust and Genocide Studies
"The major forum for scholarship on the Holocaust and other genocides, ... an international journal featuring research articles, interpretive essays, and book reviews... It is the principal publication to address the issue of how insights into the Holocaust apply to other genocides."
Journal of Genocide Research
A cross-disciplinary peer-reviewed journal that promotes the scholarly study of genocide.
Journal of Intervention and Statebuilding
This peer-reviewed "journal [is] devoted to critical analysis of international intervention, focusing on interactions and practices that shape, influence and transform states and societies."
Patterns of Prejudice
This peer-reviewed "journal provides a forum for exploring the historical roots and contemporary varieties of social exclusion and the demonization or stigmatization of racial, ethnic, national or religious Others across the world."

More Resources on Genocide

Watchers of the Sky (Documentary)
Call Number: DVD MUSB 091
With his provocative question, 'why is the killing of a million a lesser crime than the killing of an individual?' Raphael Lemkin changed the course of history. An extraordinary testament to one man's perseverance, this examines the life and legacy of the Polish-Jewish lawyer and linguist who coined the term genocide.
Watchers of the Sky (streaming)
With his provocative question, 'why is the killing of a million a lesser crime than the killing of an individual?' Raphael Lemkin changed the course of history. An extraordinary testament to one man's perseverance, this examines the life and legacy of the Polish-Jewish lawyer and linguist who coined the term genocide. YOU MUST LOGIN TO VIEW THE FILM IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS.

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity by Dinah Shelton
Call Number: Online
This encyclopedia spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity.

Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide. Adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations on 9 December 1948
The full text of the UN convention that legally defines genocide into international law. Find more information about the convention the United Nations Audio Visual Library of International Law.