Earlier this summer, we received word that Mergent Online, a popular business database, was being discontinued by its publisher. Although this is disappointing news if you are studying business, industry, finance, and other fields, the good news is that the Thompson Library has some other products that may satisfy your research needs.
Mergent Intellect and Mergent Archives
Mergent isn't getting rid of everything! Its Mergent Intellect database contains information on both public and private corporations, industries, news, and more. If you are seeking old annual reports and financial statements, Mergent Archive is your database.
D&B Hoovers
This Dun & Bradstreet product has data on tens of millions of companies in and beyond North America, plus analysis of markets and industries, contact information (searchable by 200 criteria), news, and business events. You can build lists of companies using over 175 criteria.
Orbis
If you really want to drill down for detailed information about companies and how they stack up against peer corporations, Moody's Orbis is hard to beat. It has information about tens of millions of companies worldwide, their financials, ratings, legal information, and more.
Orbis M&A
Are you after information about mergers & acquisitions? How about initial public offerings? Or maybe private equity and venture capital deals are your thing. If so, Orbis M&A may be just what you need! It covers these going back decades, for companies in North America, Europe, and elsewhere.
And these aren't all...
The Thompson Library has lots of other databases relating to business, management, accounting and finance, companies and industries, and marketing. Search our A-Z list by keyword, subject, and database type, or check out one of our subject guides. Whether you're looking for financial documents, industry reports, journal articles, statistics, company profiles, or something else, if we have it, you can probably find it on our website. And if you can't find it, a librarian is always happy to help!
P.S. You probably know this already, but the databases listed above can be used only for academic purposes. Also, use of scripts or automated methods to download data is a no-no! The extended database descriptions in our A-Z list have more information.
University of Michigan-Flint
0 Comments.