Guide to historical records, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world
Contains nearly a million collection descriptions contributed by thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. A combination of brief descriptions derived from catalog records in the RLG Union Catalog, and more detailed archival finding aids harvested from the Internet, including those that conform to the EAD (Encoded Archival Description) format standard.
Primary source documents from the 16th to 18th centuries, and journals & magazines from the 20th century.
Colonial State Papers (1574 - 1757) provides access to over 7,000 manuscript papers and 40,000 bibliographic records concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
The Colonial State Papers offers access to over 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 40,000 bibliographic records with this incredible resource on Colonial History. In addition to Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals for power, this collection also covers the Caribbean and Atlantic world. It is an invaluable resource for scholars of early American history, British colonial history, Caribbean history, maritime history, Atlantic trade, plantations, and slavery.
Colonial Legacies: Empire & Commonwealth Periodicals has over 30 periodicals concerning the 20th-century history of the British Empire, decolonization, and the history and culture of former colonies.
This archive offers a mixture of British publications about the empire and titles published in Commonwealth countries. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century to the 21st – these publications encompass the key events in the empire's later phase and its post-independence legacies.
Digital facsimile page images of works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, and English-language works printed elsewhere, from 1470-1700.
Beginning with the very first book published in English, EEBO draws from four authoritative bibliographical resources both Pollard & Redgraves Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wings Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) in their revised versions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) and the Early English Books Tract Supplement to present more than 146,000 titles and over 17 million scanned pages of content.
Transcribed texts TCP I and TCP II are now included on EEBO, adding transcriptions to approximately 50% of the texts featured. EEBO also covers texts in more than 30 languages, ranging from Algonquin to Welsh, and incorporates variant editions and multiple copies.
The EEBO corpus consists of the works represented in the English Short Title Catalog I and II (based on the Pollard & Redgrave and Wing short title catalogs), as well as the Thomason Tracts. Together these trace the history of English thought from the first book printed in English in 1475 through 1700. The content covers literature, philosophy, politics, religion, geography, science and all other areas of human endeavor. The assembled collection of 125,000 volumes is a mainstay for understanding the development of Western culture in general and the Anglo-American world in particular. The STC collections have always found strong proponents in English, linguistics, and history but the collections are all encompassing in coverage, including core texts in religious studies, art, women's studies, history of science, law, and music.
Digital primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.
Primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more from around the world, including from national libraries, academic and public libraries, and a variety of special collections, archives, and repositories.
Currently contains four collections:
Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
British Politics and Society
British Theatre, Music and Literature: High and Popular Culture
European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection