LibGuides: Supply Chain &amp; Operations Management: A Guide to Library Research: Market & Industry Resources

Market & Industry Resources

Industrial Classification Systems Explanation

NAICS - North American Industrial Classification System

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Market research reports and market forecasting in advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies. Includes the podcast "You Should Know This."
Business & Management Collections on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of business-related news, scholarly articles, case studies, company profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, financial data, reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, and trade journals.
Includes these collections:
- Bloomberg Businessweek Archive
- Business Abstracts with Full Text
- Business Book Summaries
- Business Source Complete
- Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1774-1901
- eBook Business Collection
- Entrepreneurial Studies Source
- Human Resources Abstracts
- Regional Business News
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1886-present. Case studies, company profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, financial data, industry reports, investment research reports, market research reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, trade journals. All aspects of business.
Due to license restrictions, access to the 500 most popular articles from Harvard Business Review is read-only--no printing, downloading, or direct linking to these 500 articles is permitted. All other HBR articles are fully accessible to all current U-M students, faculty, and staff with no such restrictions.

Use Policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of EBSCO Business Source Complete."
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Information on companies globally, including SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies, and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets, and more.
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
Industry research across an extensive range of industries. Note: Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session.
IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, products & markets, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, cost structure, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends. iExpert reports are brief executive summaries of broader reports. Risk Ratings reports highlight structural risk, growth risk, and sensitivity risk.

Technical notes: Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session. Exceeding this limit blocks access for the entire University. If you have a research need beyond this limit, please contact the Kresge Library in Ann Arbor at kresge_library@umich.edu.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Includes information from Hoover's and Dun & Bradstreet.

Industry & Analysis (U.S. International Trade Administration)
Trade analysis to create and implement innovative trade and investment strategies for U.S. businesses.
more info...less info...
-Evaluates the potential effects of U.S government regulations and domestic policies on industries.

-Maximizes U.S. gains in trade negotiations and support the enforcement of U.S. trade laws.

-Provides trade and industry data to underpin the development of national economic policies

ProQuest Business This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases relating to business.
Includes the following databases. which may also be searched individually:
- ABI/INFORM Collection
  - ABI/INFORM Dateline
  - ABI/INFORM Global
  - ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
- Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive (1952-1995)
- The Far Eastern Economic Review Archive‎ (1946-2009)
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business
- ProQuest Historical Annual Reports (1844-present)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1889-2011)
- ProQuest Research Library: Business
- Women's Wear Daily Archive
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from foreign, US, and state governments, and businesses.
Indexes and abstracts federal statistical publications since 1974, business and state government publications since 1980, and international agency publications since 1983. Provides links to full text of 15% of federal publications. . Firefox recommended. Does not work with Safari.
UN Comtrade - United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database This link opens in a new window
Global statistics from the Statistics Division, Department of Economic & Social Affairs, United Nations.
VitalLaw This link opens in a new window
News, analysis, and legislation on federal, state, and international tax topics.
Formerly branded as Cheetah, VitalLaw includes the U.S. Master GAAP Guide with technical explanations of generally accepted accounting principles as documented in the Financial Accounting Standards Boards (FASB) Accounting Standards Codification (ASC).
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
Datasets from the World Bank. Includes World Development Indicators (WDI). Also includes Africa Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, and the Global Economic Monitor.

Supply Chain & Operations Management: A Guide to Library Research

Have a Question? Need Some Help?

Market & Industry Resources