Market research reports and market forecasting in advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies. Includes the podcast "You Should Know This."
1886-present. Case studies, company profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, financial data, industry reports, investment research reports, market research reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, trade journals. All aspects of business.
Information on nearly 24 million companies, including large and mid-sized companies in the US, Canada, and worldwide
Offers company and industry financial data and news stories, as well as full text articles in 6,000 trade publications, newspapers, newswires and magazines.
Information on companies globally, including SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies, and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets, and more.
Current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, and insider trading for US and foreign companies. YouTube tutorial available
Current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, and insider trading for US and foreign companies. YouTube tutorial available
Digital collection of historical Moody's, Hoover's, Dun & Bradstreet, and Mergent publications. Mergent WebReports merged into this database.
Private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Includes information from Hoover's and Dun & Bradstreet.
Full-text access to news, business, legal, and reference information worldwide.
Information on 40 million companies worldwide.
Users are required to enter "University of Michigan" in the "Enter your organization's name" box to authenticate and use the database. No guest access.
Business and financial research for over 700,000 non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies.
Full text versions of annual reports for over 800 corporations, 1844-2008.
1886-present. Case studies, company profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, financial data, industry reports, investment research reports, market research reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, trade journals. All aspects of business.
Information on companies globally, including SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies, and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets, and more.
Information on nearly 24 million companies, including large and mid-sized companies in the US, Canada, and worldwide
Information on privately held companies is notoriously difficult to obtain as they are not required to file with the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC). Since these companies are not required to publicly provide information, only information voluntarily released is usually available from outside the organization. However, the Thompson Library (UM-Flint) does have a few databases that may help when researching privately owned or wholly owned companies.
The databases listed below are suggested resources to try. If they do not provide information needed, an attempt may be made to contact the company directly and simply ask if they would share the information you need to complete your research. Again, they have no requirement to do so, so we remind you to be extremely polite, identify yourself and your association with UM-Flint, and provide information regarding intended use of anything they are willing to share.
NOTE:
In addition to the databases listed below (for company data), please consider using the various databases of journal articles and business news, which will likely include any news items about privately held companies within their collections. This could be a great source of information on the operations or changes within such a company!
Business and financial research for over 700,000 non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies.
Information on nearly 24 million companies, including large and mid-sized companies in the US, Canada, and worldwide
1886-present. Case studies, company profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, financial data, industry reports, investment research reports, market research reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, trade journals. All aspects of business.
Information on companies globally, including SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies, and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets, and more.
Private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Includes information from Hoover's and Dun & Bradstreet.
Full-text access to news, business, legal, and reference information worldwide.
Information on 40 million companies worldwide.
Users are required to enter "University of Michigan" in the "Enter your organization's name" box to authenticate and use the database. No guest access.
University of Michigan-Flint
