LibGuides: Chemistry: A Guide to Library Research: Analytical Chemistry

Start with these databases:

American Chemical Society Web Editions This link opens in a new window
The American Chemistry Society is where working chemists start to find out current research in their area. The ACS publications are written by chemists for an audience of chemists.
CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Collection of interactive chemistry databases. Search by Name, Synonym, Molecular Formula, CAS Registry Number, InChI, InChI Key, or SMILES.
Includes these databases:
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
- Combined Chemical Dictionary
- Dictionary of Organic Compounds
- Dictionary of Natural Products
- Dictionary of Drugs
- Dictionary of Food Compounds
- Dictionary of Marine Natural Products
- Properties of Organic Compounds
- Polymers: A Property Database
A detailed review is available: http://www.istl.org/07-spring/electronic3.html
ScienceDirect (Elsevier Books & Journals Online) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect has non-ACS chemistry journals as well as interdisciplinary journals related to chemistry. This site also has e-books available.
Includes over 2,000 journals and 35,000 books published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon, Mosby, and Saunders journals. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities.

Includes chemistry, chemical engineering, clinical medicine, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy & technology, environmental science & technology, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, astronomy.
SpringerLink: Books, Journals, and More This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink has applied chemistry journals. This site also has e-books which can be downloaded by chapter or the entirety of the book.
Personal copies of some books can be purchased for $39.99 each through a service offered by Springer called MyCopy. The MyCopy offer is currently valid for over 14,000 Springer eBooks. More info about MyCopy.

Online Analytical Chemistry Books

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Entire content of the print edition of the CRC Handbook. Contains frequently used data in science, including the periodical table of the elements, basic constants and units, and geophysical data. Updated annually.

More related databases:

Royal Society of Chemistry's Journals, Books and Databases This link opens in a new window
The Royal Society of Chemistry is the professional equivalent of the American Chemical Society in Great Britain. This are professional publications for an audience of chemists.
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
From the National Library of Medicine, this collection of information "provides references covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals." This is mostly citations instead of full text articles. Coverage goes back to 1999.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
This database has over 39 million chemical reactions. You can search by drawing in chemical structures and then limiting to reagent, solvent, etc. Java has to be enabled to use the drawing function.
Combined web access to Beilstein, Gmelin, and Patent Chemistry Database. Search by chemical structures or reactions to retrieve physical/chemical properties, spectra, related reactions, description of reactions as well as references to the literature in which the data appear. It also includes the synthesis planner tool.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
This multi-volume set includes physical properties and processes of most commercially available chemicals. There are also references at the end of the articles for further research.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
Merck Index is a reference tool that contains short entries on various compounds including drugs. The entries will contain CAS registry number, synonyms of the substances, chemical formula, molecular weight, various physical properties, and references to further information about that substance.

Chemistry: A Guide to Library Research

Have a Question? Need Some Help?

Useful Tools for Chemistry Research

Start with these databases:

Online Analytical Chemistry Books

More related databases: