Chemistry: A Guide to Library Research

Includes these databases:

• CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
• Combined Chemical Dictionary
• Dictionary of Organic Compounds
• Dictionary of Natural Products
• Dictionary of Drugs
• Dictionary of Food Compounds
• Dictionary of Marine Natural Products
• Properties of Organic Compounds
• Polymers: A Property Database

A detailed review is available: http://www.istl.org/07-spring/electronic3.html

Personal copies of some books can be purchased for $39.99 each through a service offered by Springer called MyCopy. The MyCopy offer is currently valid for over 14,000 Springer eBooks. More info about MyCopy.

PubMed Central (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLMs legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLMs extensive print journal collection. Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed and is managed by NLMs National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

PMC has material dating back to mid- to late-1800s or early 1900s for some journals.

Quality data curated from tens of thousands of publications:

• Quality data curated from tens of thousands of publications, including curated databases for E. coli, B. subtilis, H. sapiens, and S. cerevisiae.  
• Computationally predicted metabolic pathways and operons.  
• Data integrated from other databases, including gene essentiality, regulatory networks, protein features, and GO annotations.

Provides a reference on the genomes and metabolic pathways of thousands of sequenced organisms. BioCyc PGDBs are generated by software that predict the metabolic pathways of completely sequenced organisms, predict which genes code for missing enzymes in metabolic pathways, and predict operons. BioCyc also integrates information from other bioinformatics databases, such as protein feature and Gene Ontology information from UniProt. The BioCyc website provides a suite of software tools for database searching and visualization, for omics data analysis, and for comparative genomics and comparative pathway questions.

Combined web access to Beilstein, Gmelin, and Patent Chemistry Database. Search by chemical structures or reactions to retrieve physical/chemical properties, spectra, related reactions, description of reactions as well as references to the literature in which the data appear. It also includes the synthesis planner tool.