LibGuides: Engineering: A Guide to Library Research: General Engineering Resources

General Engineering Resources

Here are some more resources for finding engineering articles. They are not as engineering focused as resources found under "Mechanical Engineering" and "Electrical Engineering".

Applied Science & Technology Collections This link opens in a new window
Research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines, from academic journals and trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
"A comprehensive index to literature on materials such as polymers, plastics, rubber, ceramics and composites. It addresses manufacturing practices, properties and applications of these materials." This resource mostly contains information about these topics rather than the actual documents.
The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the METADEX, Copper, and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated abstract and index resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier Books & Journals Online) This link opens in a new window
This collection of journals focuses mostly on the physical sciences. It also includes some non-science topics. It can be useful for interdisciplinary topics.
Includes over 2,000 journals and 35,000 books published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers, including Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon, Mosby, and Saunders journals. Coverage is particularly strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, but also includes some social sciences and humanities.

Includes chemistry, chemical engineering, clinical medicine, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy & technology, environmental science & technology, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, astronomy.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
This resource is tracking peered reviewed (vetted) science literature (articles, books and conference proceedings). This collection has mostly citations to that literature not the actual documents.
International multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences. Searchable by cited-reference (forward citation searching). Covers journals, patents, and websites (16,500+ titles) from 4,000+ publishers, 1995-present, with limited earlier coverage.

Engineering E-book Collections

AES Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
The Audio Engineering Society has published their conference papers, engineering briefs, and journal articles.
ASME Digital Collection: Books, Journals, Proceedings This link opens in a new window
American Society of Mechanical Engineers' primary repository of current and archival literature.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks in Engineering & Technology This link opens in a new window
These are online handbooks that cover civil, mechanical and electrical engineering.