LibGuides: Engineering: A Guide to Library Research: Mechanical Engineering

Frequently Used Databases

ASME Digital Collection: Books, Journals, Proceedings This link opens in a new window
American Society of Mechanical Engineers' primary repository of current and archival literature.
ASME Standards Collection This link opens in a new window
Online access to all current standards from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Online access to all current standards from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Standards include the International Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC) and standards on topics including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing.

The International Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code establishes rules of safety — relating only to pressure integrity — governing the design, fabrication, and inspection of boilers and pressure vessels, and nuclear power plant components during construction. The objective of the rules is to provide a margin for deterioration in service. Advancements in design and material and the evidence of experience are constantly being added.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
The Society of Automotive Engineers publishes various documents that include technical papers and journal articles. The technical reports are archived back to 1906.
1998-present (full text); 1906-present (citations). Includes papers contained in the SAE Proceedings, Special Publications, and Transactions since 1998, as well as information on articles published back to 1906.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
A combination of several print indexes created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology. They cover the subject areas of computers, electronics, mechanical and electrical engineering, physics and control theory. There are over 14,000,000 records in this database that go back to 1969.
Hosted on Engineering Village platform. Covers physics, electrical & electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing & mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology, and biophysics.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
1884-present. Scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers provides access to their publications for working electrical engineers. The publications include journal articles, conference proceedings and standards dating back to 1988.
IEEE Courses uses the best educational courses from IEEE conferences and workshops around the world and delivers them in interactive video format. You can earn Continuing Education Unit (CEU) credits and Professional Development Hours (PDH).

To set up remote access to IEEE Xplore on a mobile device, please follow these steps:
1. On the mobile device, use a browser to visit the IEEE Xplore website through the U-M Library's access.
2. Click on the blue tab "My Settings" in the middle of the screen, then choose "Remote Access."
3. Follow the instructions to pair your device. Users will be asked to sign in with an IEEE personal account before pairing.
4. This device can now be used off-site for 90 days to access IEEE Xplore. Users must go to IEEE Xplore on the paired device and log in with their IEEE personal account to access the roaming subscription.
Please note that after 90 days, users will be prompted to again pair their device and can follow the same steps as the initial pairing.

Print Books in the Thompson Library

If you interested in mechanical engineering print books in the Thompson Library they are found on the first floor with the call number TJ.

Mechanical Engineering e-book collections

ASME Digital Collection: Books, Journals, Proceedings This link opens in a new window
American Society of Mechanical Engineers' primary repository of current and archival literature.
Knovel Library This link opens in a new window
Books, chapters, and equations on engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, & applied sciences. Includes tools such as unit converters, steam calculators, and material property queries.