In brief, the library resources are reserves for use by current UM-lint students, faculty, and staff. However alums and community users have some options for accessing library resources.
Borrow physical items
Accessing online resources
Find more detailed information on our FAQ.
Many other public (and some private) university libraries will have similar policies to UM-Flint. Look on their websites for information related to "Borrowing" or "Services" related to guests or visitors.
Your local public library will most likely subscribe to a few databases that you will be able to access if you have a library card. These databases are more likely to be aimed at the general public but some might have a more academic bent. Look on their websites for pages or menus labeled "Research" or "Learn."
The Library of Michigan has made a set of online databases with both popular and scholarly content available to all Michigan residents. This services is called the Michigan eLibrary (MeL).
Additionally many public and academic libraries are part of MeLCat, a central catalog of books and interlibrary loan service for participating libraries. Check with your local library to see if they participate.
Collection of online databases available to residents of Michigan, with content for pre-K through adults. Many databases are cross-searchable.
Additionally all Michigan residents are eligible for Library of Michigan library cards. This card allows online access to some databases not included in MeL as well as checking out physical materials from the Library of Michigan in Lansing.
Open Access is defined as the free, immediate online availability of research publications and data, often with licenses that allow for greater reuse and redistribution. This is a growing movement in academic publishing, and most government documents (both federal and state) are included in the public domain.
University of Michigan-Flint