Physics and Astronomy: A Guide to Library Research

You can filter results by database type and publisher.

This publication of the Institute of Physics covers quasars, supernova remnants, and studies of the interstellar medium.

This database is maintained by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) and contains over 11.6 million records. The contents include astronomy, astrophysics, and physics.

Current, often pre-published, research in astronomy.

This yearly publication covers the most significant events in astronomy during the previous year. Coverage goes back to 1963.

This magazine is geared to the amateur astronomer. Published monthly it includes a calendar of celestial events.

This is one of the most comprehensive surveys done of celestial objects. The survey was done three times from 2001 to 2008 to catalog various objects.

This survey was coordinated at the Infrared Processing and Analytical Center (IPAC) of NASA on the California Institute of Technology campus. It covers the entire sky both northern and southern hemispheres in the near infrared spectrum of approximately two microns.

The National Radio Astronomy Observatory did a survey of the sky at 1.4 Gigahertz using a Very Large Array. The objects surveyed in the northern hemisphere were located at -40 degrees declination. The survey includes objects from the southern tropical latitudes.

This project also used the NRAO VLA to look at the galactic north and south caps initially at the 1365 and 1435 Megahertz wavelengths. The first sweep was done from 1993 to 1994. More data has been collected since then.

This archive of images and spectra are housed at the Space Telescope Science Institute on the Johns Hopkins University campus. Most of the data sets focus on optical, ultraviolet and near-infrared parts of the spectrum.