Use these databases with caution. Just because a database contains primary sources, does not mean that all the resources available in that database are primary sources. Some also contain secondary sources. Ask yourself the questions listed on the Overview page to determine if what you're looking at is a primary source.
Digital primary collections sourced from around the world.
Biographies, events & topics, primary sources, timelines, images & videos, maps & charts.
1740-1940. Special interest & general magazines; literary & professional journals; children's & women's magazines; other historically significant periodicals.
Collections of primary source documents from American history.
Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents.
Text and video from Black Thought & Culture and Black Studies in Video.
Congressional bills, statutes, debates, journals.
Contains themed collections of over 80,000 declassified and FOIA'ed documents that led to U.S. policy decisions.
Primary sources from several libraries, including books, pamphlets, and manuscripts, all searchable.
Complete runs of digitized major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000, including Variety, Billboard, and others.
Online version of the 19th-century American magazine Harper's Weekly, with original page images and searchable full-text.
Digital archive of articles published by interned Japanese-Americans between 1942 and 1945.
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction. Particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Historical legal treatises, cases, and other primary sources from the United States, Great Britain, and other countries around the world.
Complete archive of National Geographic magazine every page of every issue along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images, and videos.
Contains material that was compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. Covers the administrations of Presidents Herbert Hoover through Bill Clinton.
Large-scale plans of urban areas. Maps of over 12,000 US cities and towns.
Digital archive of texts related to witchcraft dating from the 15th century to the early 20th century.
Primary documents from the history of women in social movements between 1600 and the present.
Digital primary collections sourced from around the world.
Facsimiles of English language texts, 1470-1700.
Digital images of books published during the 18th Century. Full-text searching; access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science & more.
Documents from Parliament, concerning parliamentary affairs, legislation, policy, politics.
Digital primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.
Searchable archive of 16th-, 17th- and 18th-century British State Papers, Domestic and Foreign.
Digital primary collections sourced from around the world.
Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents.
Historical legal treatises, cases, and other primary sources from the United States, Great Britain, and other countries around the world.
Collection devoted to the transatlantic history of slavery; includes books, manuscripts, court records, and serials from US and European archives.
Provides full text searchable access to historical newspapers published in Africa, East Europe, Latin America, and South Asia.
Primary source material from archives in the United States & Europe. The historical collections include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, & more.
University of Michigan-Flint