Documentary films & newsreels of significant events in U.S. history, 1492-2001, and filmed 1898-2010.
Upon completion, American History in Video will contain over 5700 documentary films and newsreels (over 2000 hours) of significant events in U.S. history, in streaming video. Each film includes a transcript. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, good for 48 hours.
A collection of text and video on human rights crimes in the 20th and early 21st centuries.
Includes more than 10,400 pages of archival materials; over 2,300 published monographs totaling more than 37,000 pages; 241 complete videos; more than 3,000 pages of reports, journal articles, and other full-text items; more than 1,000 images (most from The Getty); and nearly 700 links to vetted, important external websites.
Meet the Press is broadcast-television's longest-running program, with interviews, panels and debates from across the political spectrum that were televised 1947 through 2012.
Upon completion, the collection will Include every surviving program from the show’s inception in 1947 through the end of 2013, roughly 1,600 hours of programming. (Roughly 500 hours are no longer extant.)
Notable programs include:
• Jackie Robinson's appearance in 1957 to discuss Civil Rights and his NAACP involvement
• Fidel Castro's appearance in 1959
• Several appearances by Indira Gandhi
• Colin Powell's 2008 endorsement of Barack Obama for US president
All programs can be watched in streaming format. The Meet the Press database is fully searchable. All programs are provided with running transcripts. Programs and clips can be saved to a playlist and shared with others at UM-Flint.
Presidential Recordings Digital Edition
This audio collection comprises hours of sound files and transcripts of meetings and telephone conversations for Presidents Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon.
Contains 55,000 video testimonies of survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides.
The Visual History Archive contains 55,000 audiovisual interviews with survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides. Interviewees are primarily Jewish survivors, though the archive also includes interviews with gay/lesbian, Jehovah's Witness, and Roma and Sinta (Gypsy) survivors, survivors of eugenics policies, political prisoners, rescuers and aid providers, liberators, and war crimes trial participants.
Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the following:
• 1915 Armenian Genocide
• 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China
• Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979
• Guatemalan Genocide of the early 1980s
• 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda
• Ongoing conflict in the Central African Republic
• Contemporary acts of violence against Jews
The interviews were conducted in 62 different countries and in 41 languages and comprise the most extensive resource of its type. Each interview is fully indexed, thus allowing the viewer to search using either the assigned index terms or a free-text search. Additionally, transcripts are provided for many of the testimonies.
Documentaries covering Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania, from earliest civilizations to the present.
Upon completion, World History in Video will contain over 1750 documentary films and newsreels (over 1000 hours) of significant events in world history, in streaming video. Each film includes a transcript; many include filmmaker biography and notes. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, good for 48 hours.
Newsreels of significant historical events in streaming format.
The full run of newsreels on significant historical events from throughout the 20th century. Includes the March of Time series, and selected videos from American History in Video and World History in Video, but adds new material from France, Japan, the Netherlands, and other countries throughout the world.
Each film has a transcript or translation. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android device, available for 48 hours.