Public Administration: A Guide to Library Research

Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.

Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).

Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer.

Over 5,000 magazines and journals, 1971 to present (indexing); 1987 to present (full text); coverage varies by title. All subjects.

Profiles over 105,000 U.S.-based foundations, describing programs, areas of funding, types of support, geographic emphasis, trustees & officers, application process, deadlines, high, low & average grants, and lists of recent grants made. Also provides access to recent tax returns for private foundations as submitted to the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (Form 990-PF's). Updated biweekly.

Bibliographic database covering all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. Content includes articles from scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents to provide up-to-date information on a broad range of topics of concern to the world today. Covers 1934-present; more complete coverage starts in 1970.

Includes these collections:

• Abstracts in Social Gerontology  
• AgeLine  
• Child Development & Adolescent Studies  
• Criminal Justice Abstracts  
• Family & Society Studies Worldwide  
• Family Studies Abstracts  
• Gender Studies Database  
• Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984  
• Race Relations Abstracts  
• Social Sciences Full Text   
• SocINDEX with Full Text  
• Urban Studies Abstracts  
• Violence & Abuse Abstracts  
• Women's Studies International  

Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare and social policy. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300 serial publications, and includes journal articles, dissertations and book reviews. Searches link to Community of Scholars: Social Sciences. Coverage includes community & mental health services, crisis intervention, family & social welfare, gerontology, poverty, homelessness, professional issues, policy, addiction, social work education & practice, violence, abuse, neglect, welfare services.

Ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls. About 20 percent of the data in Statista comes from government sources like the World Bank and the U.S. Census. The rest comes from industry, marketing, and trade groups. The tables, charts and graphs can be downloaded as images or into Microsoft Powerpoint and Excel.

1971-present. Covers all aspects of violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 21,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

1937-present. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters.

Video tutorials:

• CINAHL -- basic search
• CINAHL – advanced search
• Using the CINAHL / MeSH Headings Feature in EBSCOhost

Offers full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to health policy, including: access, administration, economics, planning, reform, insurance, law, research, ethics, public health, and social medicine. The database features coverage of more than 300 full-text titles and indexing for more than 375 publications. Searchable cited references are also provided.

Covers these topics:

• Coronavirus / COVID-19  
• Global Health Policy  
• Health Costs  
• Health Reform  
• HIV / AIDS  
• Medicaid & Medicare
• Private Insurance  
• Racial Equity and Health Policy  
• Uninsured  
• Women's Health Policy  
• Polling  

1946-present. MEDLINE is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.

MEDLINE and its content is also available in other versions:

• MEDLINE via FirstSearch
   
• MEDLINE via Web of Science
   
• PubMed: Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
   

Offers full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to health policy, including: access, administration, economics, planning, reform, insurance, law, research, ethics, public health, and social medicine. The database features coverage of more than 300 full-text titles and indexing for more than 375 publications. Searchable cited references are also provided.

The Manual covers the following: 

• Michigan History
• Michigan's Constitutions
• The Legislative Branch
• The Executive Branch
• The Judicial Branch
• Michigan's Congressional Delegation
• Institutions of Higher Education
• Local Government
• Elections 
• General Information and Statistics

Keyword(s): United States

PolicyMap is a US-National web-based Geographic Information System used to understand communities. With easy-to-use menus, PolicyMap is a "GIS tool for non-GIS experts" for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level. It is used in the social sciences, urban studies and regional planning, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration and policy, public health, political science, education, environmental studies, business and finance, economics, statistics and geography, among other areas.

Included in the tool is access to PolicyMaps extensive data collection, with 15,000+ indicators used to understand communities, organized into general categories including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending activity, quality of life, economy, education, health, federal guidelines, and other analysis. In addition, students and faculty can easily upload and incorporate their data into and leverage it against the thousands of indicators already available in PolicyMap.

Includes these collections:

• International Political Science Abstracts 
   
• Peace Research Abstracts 
   
• Political Science Complete 
   
• Public Administration Abstracts 
   
• Public Affairs Index 
   
• World Politics Review

Bibliographic database covering all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. Content includes articles from scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents to provide up-to-date information on a broad range of topics of concern to the world today. Covers 1934-present; more complete coverage starts in 1970.

Covers the administrations of Presidents Herbert Hoover, Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Harry Truman, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Richard M. Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, and Bill Clinton. Created by the University of Michigan Digital Library.

TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRBs Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECDs Joint Transport Research Centres International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.