Skip to Main Content

UM-Flint Home University of Michigan-Flint

Thompson Library Closed Memorial Day

GHCC (archives) Closed

Chat with a Librarian Closed

Open to Visitors & Guests Closed

Guest hours:
Mon-Fri, 12pm-5pm

Research Topic Ideas

Astronomy; Biology; Chemistry; Computer Science; Engineering; Geography, Planning, & Environment; Mathematics; Physics

Education Topics

Related subject guide and suggested database

Education: A Guide to Library Research
by Paul Streby Last Updated Oct 25, 2024 57 views this year

ERIC via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Journal articles & citations, government publications, conference papers, reports, theses, and other education-related documents. The ERIC Thesaurus can help identify useful subject terms.
Also available via EBSCOhost and the U.S. Department of Education (open access version).

This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

Covers:
- Adult, career and vocational education
- Counseling
- Elementary & early childhood education
- Education management
- Higher education, including junior colleges
- Second-language learning
- Special education
- Teacher education
- Tests, measurement, & evaluation
Many ERIC Documents are online in ERIC, and older ones are available on microfiche on the 1st floor of the Thompson Library.

Social Work Topics

Related subject guide and suggested database

Social Work: A Guide to Library Research
by Paul Streby Last Updated Feb 10, 2025 359 views this year

Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index and abstract of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare and social policy. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300 serial publications, and includes journal articles, dissertations and book reviews. Searches link to Community of Scholars: Social Sciences. Coverage includes community & mental health services, crisis intervention, family & social welfare, gerontology, poverty, homelessness, professional issues, policy, addiction, social work education & practice, violence, abuse, neglect, welfare services.