LibGuides: The Flint Water Crisis: A Guide to Information Resources: Research

Healthy Flint Research Coordinating Center

Healthy Flint Research Coordinating Center
The Healthy Flint Research Coordinating Center (HFRCC) is a collaboration with the Flint Community, UM-Flint, UM-Ann Arbor, and MSU.
more info...less info...
Working to aid Flint recovery and rebuild from the water crisis by:
• Assisting in coordination, dissemination, and building synergy in research efforts in Flint.
• Facilitating community and academic partnerships through workshops.
• Utilizing a community managed ethics board review (CERB) of proposals.
• Creating a data repository to share data that can aid the creation of a healthy Flint and lessen redundant research. Opendataflint.org
• Offering Community-Driven Research Day.
• Increasing community voice with structured community dialogues.
• Including a broad coordinated cross-section of Flint stakeholders.
Open Data for Flint | HFRCC
Open Data Flint (ODF), as part of the Healthy Flint Research Coordinating Center (HFRCC) is an open access repository for all kinds of data and data-related resources about the Flint community within the state of Michigan. It is a place to both find data to use and share data for others to use.
more info...less info...
Open Data Flint is an open-to-the-community data repository whose aim is to assist the community of Flint, Michigan to:
• Bring together data to help build the evidence base to achieve a healthier Flint community.
• Gain a deeper understanding of the far-reaching impact of the water crisis on the Flint population.

Research Articles

Flint Water Study
Website of the Virginia Tech independent research team and their collaborators, who are helping to understand and research the Flint water crisis.
"Elevated Blood Lead Levels in Children Associated with the Flint Drinking Water Crisis: A Spatial Analysis of Risk and Public Health Response"
Peer-reviewed article from researchers at Hurley Medical Center and Michigan State University College of Human Medicine [February 2016]
more info...less info...
Hanna-Attisha, M., LaChance, J., Casey Sadler, R., & Champney Schnepp, A. (2016). Elevated Blood Lead Levels in Children Associated With the Flint Drinking Water Crisis: A Spatial Analysis of Risk and Public Health Response. American Journal Of Public Health, 106(2), 283-290. doi:10.2105/AJPH.2015.303003
"Flint Water Crisis: Data-Driven Risk Assessment via Residential Water Testing"
Article presented at Data for Good Exchange 2016, reports on researcher's data model that predicts locations in Flint to have lead contaminated water. [September 2016]
more info...less info...
Abernethy, J., Anderson, C., Dai, C., Farahi, A., Nguyen, L., Rauh, A., . . . Yang, S. (2016, September 30). Flint water crisis: Data-driven risk assessment via residential water testing. In Data For Good Exchange 2016. Retrieved October 7, 2016, from https://arxiv.org/abs/1610.00580 doi:arXiv:1610.00580

Lead Toxicity: Relevant Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Primary journal index for nursing and allied health professions.
1937-present. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters.
Video tutorials:
MEDLINE via FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
Covers clinical medicine, nutrition, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental medicine, toxicology, health services administration, nursing.
MEDLINE and its content is also available in other versions:
- MEDLINE via Ovid
- MEDLINE via Web of Science
- PubMed: Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
MEDLINE via Ovid This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of medicine and health care administration. Includes some nursing and allied health.
Some users have recently had to reset their passwords to use all the features of Ovid-based MEDLINE. Contact a librarian if you have any questions.
1946-present. MEDLINE is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.

MEDLINE and its content is also available in other versions:
- MEDLINE via FirstSearch
- MEDLINE via Web of Science
- PubMed: Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 21 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.

Proximity searching is available, which allows you to find terms within specified distances from each other.

Includes journal literature, 1950-present; selected online books. This version uses Outside Tool to link to resources at UM-Flint.
Video tutorials:
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
An open access version is available for users not affiliated with UM-Flint.
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLMs legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLMs extensive print journal collection. Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed and is managed by NLMs National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

PMC has material dating back to mid- to late-1800s or early 1900s for some journals.
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, and other literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.

Water: Relevant Databases

Access Water This link opens in a new window
Proceedings, ebooks, fact sheets, and more from the Water Environment Foundation.
Content from the Water Environment Foundation for water quality professionals, including conference proceedings, manuals of practice, standards, journal articles, fact sheets, technical reports, and ebooks.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of environmental science and related disciplines, and including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management), and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Includes content from these databases:
- AGRICOLA
- Aqualine
- Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
- Biotechnology Research Abstracts
- Ecology Abstracts
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts
- Environmental Impact Statements
- Health & Safety Science Abstracts
- Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
- Pollution Abstracts
- Risk Abstracts
- Sustainability Science Abstracts
- Toxicology Abstracts
- TOXLINE
- Water Resources Abstracts
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of Earth's air, land, and water environments, and including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Includes Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized resources studying the critical issues affecting Earths air, land, and water environments.

Topics Related to the Flint Water Crisis

Activism
Art as commentary
Early childhood development
Citizen scientists
Emergency manager law
Environmental health
Government regulations
Health care access
Infrastructure
Investigative journalism
Lead and Copper Rule
Lead toxicity
Legionella
Phosphates
Shigella
Volunteerism
Water filtration
Water Resource Development Act (S.2848)
Water rights
Water supply policy
Water supply regulation

Related subject guide

The Flint Water Crisis: A Guide to Information Resources
by Paul Streby Last Updated Sep 30, 2024 727 views this year