Using CINAHLHow to Use PubMed
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing   Tags: health care, nursing  

Information on library research and finding information in the field of Nursing.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.umflint.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Doing Research in Nursing

To find articles published about nursing, you will search in CINAHL, the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature, and Medline, which indexes medical articles.

Both CINAHL and Medline are primarily indexes, which means they allow you to search for and find out about articles published on a health care topic, but they don't necessarily contain the full text of any particular article that you find (both these indexes contain some full text articles).

There are links from these indexes to the full text of the articles, if we have the full text.

If we don't have an article that you need, and you are a student, staff or faculty at UM-Flint, we will get it for you from a library that does have it. This is a free service called Interlibrary Loan.

 

What is Peer Review?

Peer review is the process in which an article is reviewed by experts in the author's field before being accepted for publication.  This process generally gives the article more credibility and validity than articles published in popular magazines.  It is recommended that you always be aware of the information you are using, however, because in the end, the onus is on you to use valid, credible information when writing papers and doing projects for university courses. 

Databases to Start With

Start your search in the databases listed below.  Other helpful databases may be found in the A to Z list in this Nursing guide.

CINAHL
This index (the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the primary index for nursing.  It allows you to find almost every article published in the field of nursing, and contains full text for about 13% of the articles it indexes.  The full text of other articles may be found by clicking the "Find Full Text" link included in the record for each article.  Instructions for using CINAHL are available here.

Pubmed (Medline)
This index is the publicly available version of the U.S. National Library of Medicine's® (NLM) premier bibliographic databasej, containing over 19 million references to journal articles in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.  

Cochrane Library
Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that provide high-quality, independent evidence to inform health care decision making. 

UpToDate 
Online clinical information resource with emphasis on internal medicine, obstetrics, & gynecology, and family practice.  9,100+ topics in 20 specialties; graded treatment recommendations; links to referenced articles (when available); drug database & drug interactions program, including adult, pediatric, internationsl, & natural drugs with drug-to-drug, drug-to-herb and herb-to-herb interactions; medical calculators.

DynaMed
Dynamed is a point-of-care database, making accessible clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, drawn from 500 health care journals. Updated daily.

Lexicomp Online
Drug information for health care providers. Includes drug identification, interactions & compatibility, formulary status, toxicity, calculation for infusions & pediatric/adult conversions, and patient education.

Additional databases for Nursing are available in the A-Z List of databases tab above.

      

    Liaison Librarian for Nursing:

    Profile Image
    Laura Friesen
     

    Chat with a Librarian

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip