This is the "Articles" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology   Tags: social sciences, social work, society, sociology  

Last Updated: Sep 16, 2013 URL: http://libguides.umflint.edu/sociology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Articles

To find articles published about sociology, you can begin by using the Summon box to the right of this box, or try some of the suggested databases just underneath the Summon search.

Sociological Abstracts is an index, which means it will allow you to search for and find out about articles published about sociological topics, but it won't contain the full text of articles that you find.  

JSTOR, Oxford, SAGE, Springerlink, and Social Sciences Full Text will allow you to search journals within a certain discipline and access full text versions of the articles that come up in the results. 

If we don't have the article you need, and you are a student, staff or faculty at UM-Flint, we will get it for you from a library that does have it.  This is a free service called Interlibrary Loan (see the box below for more information about ILL).

 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided to faculty, staff and students to supplement the Library's collection.  You can request materials (books, articles, etc.) from other libraries around the world with this service.  Simply fill out the form after logging into the ILLIAD system to request an item.

This is a different service from Get This, which will request materials available on the Ann Arbor campus.

 

What is Peer Review?

Peer review is the process in which a scholar's work is reviewed by experts in a field before being accepted for publication (in the case of journals).  Many people give more credence to journal articles that have gone through a peer review process because they have been reviewed by experts in the field (rather than just an editor as is the case of a newspaper or magazine) before being accepted for publication. 

 

Summon Search

Sociology Databases to Start With

Hover your mouse over the name of the resource to see how to search for only sociology articles within that resource.

Other Sociology Related Databases

  • Annual Review of Sociology
    The Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields. Review chapters typically cover social processes, institutions and culture, organizations, political and economic sociology, stratification, demography, urban sociology, social policy, historical sociology, and major developments in sociology in other regions of the world.
  • Dissertations & Theses
    Indexing & authors' abstracts for 90% of doctoral dissertations and some masters theses accepted each year in North America, plus thousands more from around the world. Includes free full-text (in PDF) to all U-M and CIC/Big Ten Universities' dissertations (the 11 members of the Big Ten athletic conference, plus the University of Chicago & the University of Illinois at Chicago) filed since 1997, and abstracts written by the authors for all dissertations from 1980 to present. Also includes an index of theses, with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, since 1716.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    1980-present. Community & mental health services, crisis intervention, family & social welfare, gerontology, poverty, homelessness, professional issues, policy, addiction, social work education & practice, violence, abuse, neglect, welfare services.
  • Urban Studies Abstracts
    Covers essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance.

Meet your Sociology Liaison Librarian!

Profile Image
Emily Newberry
Contact Info
314 Thompson Library
Drop by my office anytime the door is open
810.424.5302
Send Email
 

Chat with a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip