LibGuides: Sociology: A Guide to Library Research: Family Studies

Family Studies

Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource of research, policy and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology and development, and social welfare.
Provides abstracts and bibliographic records from 2,000+ journals, books, reports, and other sources. 1970-present.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
FamilySearch This link opens in a new window
Free genealogical website, with millions of historical records. Search options include a catalog, books, genealogies, and a Wiki.
Pew Research Center This link opens in a new window
Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping America and the world.
The Pew Research Center conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions.

Pew Research is a nonprofit, tax-exempt 501(c)3 organization and a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts. All of its reports and datasets are made freely available in order to inform the public, the press and policymakers.
Population Index This link opens in a new window
1986-2000. Covers population topics, including fertility, mortality, population size and growth, migration, nuptiality & family, research methodology, projections & predictions, historical demography, demographic & economic interrelations. Not updated.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly literature of violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault and emotional abuse.
1971-present. Covers all aspects of violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 21,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.