The links below will open the associated ebook, or come as close as possible. Typically, you will be required to login with your uniqname and password to use the books when you are not on the UM-Flint campus.
Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures by
Anesthesiologists Manual of Surgical Procedures, 5enbsp;is your top-to-bottom guide to anesthetic technique, containing everything you need to know for effective perioperative management of patients. With so many moving variables before, during, and after surgery, it's crucial to understand the best practices for successful anesthetic care. This instructive text accounts for each variable immaculately, presenting all anesthetic considerations in a clear, templated format, detailing each treatment option then refining and summarizing all courses of action in easy-to-read tables.nbsp; If you're an anesthesiologist, anesthesia resident, or CRNA, this new Fifth Edition will guide you through all operative scenarios and ensure the highest standards of anesthetic practice. Features: Full color illustrations and photographs Each procedure covered from both the surgeon and anesthesiologist's perspectives Summary tables distill each procedure for easy review Electronic version includes links to procedures Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice by
From basic science to various anesthesia techniques to complications, the meticulously updated, fifth edition of Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, covers all you need to know about obstetric anesthesia. An editorial team of leading authorities presents the latest on anesthesia techniques for labor and delivery and medical disorders that occur during pregnancy. New chapters and rewritten versions of key chapters cover topics such as psychiatric disorders in the pregnant patient, neurologic disorders, and critical care of obstetric patients.With online access to the full text, it is an invaluable, comprehensive reference textbook for specialists in obstetric anesthesiology and obstetricians, as well as anesthesiology and obstetric residents. This book also serves as a clear, user-friendly guide for both anesthesiologists and obstetricians who are in clinical practice. "...a comprehensive and contemporary, modern reference text." Reviewed by British Journal of Anaesthesia, May 2015 "Chestnut and his 79 expert contributors have once again released a current guide to obstetric anesthesia that proves useful to both junior learners and subspecialty providers." Reviewed by Canadian Journal of Anesthesia, Apr 2015 Emphasizes the treatment of the fetus and the mother as separate patients with distinct needs to ensure the application of modern principles of care. Delivers contributions from many leaders in the fields of obstetric anesthesia and maternal-fetal medicine from all over the world. Offers abundant figures, tables, and boxes that illustrate the step-by-step management of a full range of clinical scenarios. Presents key point summaries in each chapter for quick, convenient reference. Stay current on the latest advancements and developments with sweeping updates and new chapters on topics such as patient safety and team approach, transthoracic echocardiography and noninvasive measurement of cardiac output in obstetric patients, psychiatric disorders during pregnancy, neurologic injuries, and more. Prevent and plan for potential complications associated with the advancing age of pregnant women. An extensive, state-of-the art discussion of "critical care of obstetric patients" equips you to address any special considerations for this increasing segment. Know exactly how to proceed. An abundance of tables and boxes illustrate the step-by-step management of a full range of clinical scenarios. Choose the best drugs available while adhering to the most recent guidelines for obstetric anesthesia.
Clinical Anesthesia by
Clinical Anesthesia, Seventh Edition, covers the full spectrum of clinical options, providing insightful coverage of pharmacology, physiology, co-existing diseases, and surgical procedures. This classic book is unmatched for its clarity and depth of coverage. Traditionally available as a printed textbook, now it comes with a completely revamped digital experience, powered by Inkling. Viewable through a browser or as a download to your tablet or smartphone, the digital version includes: The complete text with optimized navigation A powerful, index-based search Hundreds of videos demonstrating teaching points for procedures and concepts. The videos teach airway anatomy via bronchoscope, demonstrate decision-making via animated algorithms, and simplify physiologic concepts via simple visual demonstrations All referenced cases, studies and pages are linked throughout for instant access Regular updates integrated into the text of the electronic version The ability to share notes with friends and colleagues Whether you're brushing up on the basics, or preparing for a complicated case, the digital version will let you take the content wherever you go and offer you the most interactive experience yet.
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The gold-standard of pharmacology texts - completely updated to reflect the latest research and developments A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Thirteenth Edition represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease. The Thirteenth Edition includes more than 500 color illustrations, with many new figures emphasizing mechanisms of drug action. More than 30 new contributors have added to this edition, while the focus on basic principles is undiminished. This edition is enhanced by timely new content: *NEW chapters including Treatment of Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension, Immunity and Inflammation, Immunoglobulins and Vaccines, and Treatment of Viral Hepatitis *Expanded coverage of cardiovascular disease, with separate chapters on myocardial ischemia, hypertension, and heart failure *Increased emphasis on cellular signaling pathways involved in drug action *Summary tables at the end of each chapter that organize drugs discussed in that chapter into relevant categories and detail therapeutic usage, clinical pharmacology, and tips *Chapter Content Outlines at the beginning of each chapter *Abbreviation boxes in every chapter to easily identify the abbreviations appearing in that chapter More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.
Medical Physiology by
The 12th edition of Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology continues this bestselling title's long tradition as one of the world's favorite physiology textbooks. The immense success of this book is due to its description of complex physiologic principles in language that is easy to read and understand. Now with an improved color art program, thorough updates reflecting today's medicine and science, and accessible online at studentconsult.com, this textbook is an excellent source for mastering essential human physiology knowledge. Learn and remember vital concepts easily thanks to short, easy-to-read, masterfully edited chapters and a user-friendly full-color design. See core concepts applied to real-life situations with clinical vignettes throughout the text. Discover the newest in physiology with updates that reflect the latest advances in molecular biology, cardiovascular, neurophysiology and gastrointestinal topics. Visualize physiologic principles clearly with over 1000 bold, full-color drawings and diagrams. Distinguish core concepts from more in-depth material with a layout that uses gray shading to clearly differentiate between "need-to-know" and "nice-to-know" information. Access the complete contents online at studentconsult.com along with bonus resources such as image banks, self-assessment questions, physiology animations and more! This new edition continues the long tradition of "Guyton" as one of the world's favorite physiology textbooks
Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks by
The complete, authoritative, and practical guide to nerve blocks -- with a comprehensive atlas of ultrasound anatomy Includes DVD with detailed instruction on ultrasound-guided nerve blocks Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks takes you step-by-step through traditional and ultrasound-guided nerve block techniques. The second edition places an emphasis on clarity, standardization, and safety of peripheral nerve block techniques. Featuring sections that progress from the foundations of regional anesthesia to the clinical applications of nerve blocks, Hadzic's includes tips and insider perspective from the leadership of The New York School of Regional Anesthesia and its academic affiliates. The book also includes a unique atlas of ultrasound anatomy for regional anesthesia and pain medicine. FEATURES: A real-world emphasis on clinical utility serves as the underpinning of chapter content and drives the book's in-depth explanations of techniques and procedures Outstanding organization begins with the foundations of peripheral nerve blocks (e.g., regional anesthesia, equipment, and monitoring and documentation) and then reviews clinical applications for both traditional procedures and ultrasound-guided procedures NEW! Substantially expanded number of nerve block techniques, including both basic and advanced blocks NEW! Anatomy and practical considerations for ultrasound-guided spinal, epidural and paravertebral blocks NEW! Atlas of surface anatomy, to better identify the surface landmarks NEW! Atlas of ultrasound-guided anatomy, designed to provide critical contextual detail for the preceding technique-related content NEW! Step-by-step standardized monitoring and documentation of the block procedures NEW! Decision-making algorithm integrating techniques and technology to improve the success and safety of nerve block procedures NEW! Section on imaging of the neuraxial space NEW! DVD with detailed instructions on 5 ultrasound-guided nerve blocks that cover 95% of all indications in clinical practice NEW! Learning aids such as tips, tables, flowcharts, precise illustrations/photos, and a comprehensive literature list
Miller's Anesthesia by
From fundamental principles to advanced subspecialty procedures, Miller's Anesthesia covers the full scope of contemporary anesthesia practice. This go-to medical reference book offers masterful guidance on the technical, scientific, and clinical challenges you face each day, in addition to providing the most up-to-date information available for effective board preparation. "Miller's Anesthesia continues to serve as the most in-depth review textbook of contemporary anesthesia". Reviewed by: Genevieve Lalonde on behalf of Canadian Journal of Anesthesia Date: Jan 2015 Address the unique needs of pediatric patients with guidance from an entire section on pediatric anesthesia. View more than 1,500 full-color illustrations for enhanced visual clarity. Access step-by-step instructions for patient management, as well as an in-depth analysis of ancillary responsibilities and problems. Quickly reference important concepts with 'Key Points' boxes integrated into every chapter. Stay current on today's most recent anesthetic drugs and guidelines/protocols for anesthetic practice and patient safety, and access expanded coverage on new techniques such as TEE and other monitoring procedures. Remain at the forefront of new developments in anesthesia with coverage of hot topics including Non-OR Anesthesia; Role of the Anesthesiologist in Disasters; Sleep Medicine in Anesthesia; Perioperative and Anesthesia-related Neurotoxicity; Anesthetic Implications of Complementary and Alternative Medici≠ and Robotics. Study brand-new chapters on Perioperative Fluid Management; Extracorporeal Support Therapies; Anesthesia for Organ Donation/Procurement; and Malignant Hyperthermia and other Genetic Disorders. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to conveniently search the full text, references, tables, and index from the book on your favorite devices, in addition to accessing regular updates, related websites, and an expanded collection of procedural videos. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 6th Edition by
Hailed as the best primer on the topic, Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology has remained true to its stated goal: "to provide a concise, consistent presentation of the basic principles essential to the modern practice of anesthesia." This trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. At the same time it has retained its value for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher. This Sixth Edition has been extensively revised to reflect a greater emphasis on critical care medicine, enhanced recovery, and ultrasound in anesthesia practice. Key features that make it easier to understand complex topics: *Rich full-color art work combined with a modern, user-friendly design make information easy to find and remember *Case discussions promote application of concepts in real-world clinical practice *Boxed Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter identify important issues and facts that underlie the specialty *Numerous tables and figures encapsulate important information and facilitate recall *Up-to-date discussion of all relevant areas of anesthesiology, including equipment and monitors, pharmacology, pathophysiology, regional anesthesia, pain management, and critical care *URLs for societies, guidelines, and practice advisories.
Neural Blockade by
This comprehensive, authoritative text presents the scientific foundations and clinical practice of neural blockade in both regional anesthesia and the management of pain. The descriptions and illustrations of pain mechanisms are considered classic examples. The Fourth Edition has been refined for clarity and flows logically from principles and pharmacology, to techniques for each anatomic region, to applications. This edition has two new co-editors and several new chapters on topics including neurologic complications, neural blockade for surgery, treatment of pain in older people, and complications in pain medicine. A companion Website will offer the fully searchable text and an image bank.
Nurse Anesthesia by
Written specifically for nurse anesthetists, Nurse Anesthesia, 5th Edition provides comprehensive coverage of both scientific principles and evidence-based practice. It offers a complete overview of anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, and pathophysiology, and offers practical coverage of equipment and anesthesia management. This edition includes updated information on pharmacokinetics, clinical monitoring, drug delivery systems, and complications, and revises chapters on airway management and anesthesia for cardiac surgery. Written by leading nurse anesthesia experts John Nagelhout and Karen Plaus, this perennial bestseller prepares anesthesia students and CRNAs for today's clinical anesthesia practice. Over 650 figures of anatomy, nurse anesthesia procedures, and equipment depict complex concepts and information. An easy-to-use organization covers basic principles first, and builds on those with individual chapters for each surgical specialty. UPDATED references make it quick and simple to find the latest and most important research in the field. Over 700 tables and boxes highlight the most essential information in a quick, easy-to-reference format. Expert CRNA authors provide the current clinical information you'll use in daily practice. UPDATED pharmacology information includes pharmacokinetics, drug delivery systems, opiate antagonists, and key induction drugs. Over 100 NEW photos and illustrations enhance your understanding of difficult anesthesia concepts. UPDATED Airway Management and Anesthesia for Cardiac Surgery chapters are thoroughly revised. NEW coverage includes robotics, screening applications, and non-operating room best practices.
Practical Approach to Anesthesia Equipment by
This paperback, full-color book is ideally suited for anesthesiologists, residents, and nurse anesthetists who need a concise, practical, easily accessible reference on anesthesia equipment. Written by the authors of the definitive text Understanding Anesthesia Equipment, A Practical Approach to Anesthesia Equipment covers the most commonly used machines and devices and addresses common problems and pitfalls that affect clinical situations. The book is written in outline format and thoroughly illustrated with full-color photographs and line drawings.
Practical Approach to Cardiac Anesthesia by
A Practical Approach To Cardiac Anesthesia is the most widely used clinical reference in cardiac anesthesia. Drawing on the experience of 55 authors from 29 different institutions, this 5th edition provides complete information on drugs, monitoring, cardiopulmonary bypass, circulatory support, and anesthetic management of specific cardiac disorders. Combining clinically relevant basic science with a practical "what-to-do" approach, this text is written in an easy-to-read outline format. Information is presented in a logical structure that makes essential facts easy to find and apply. And step-by-step coverage guides readers from cardiac physiology to anesthetic management of specific cardiac surgical procedures to management of cardiac disorders to circulatory support and organ preservation. Whether you're a practicing anesthesiologist, anesthesia resident, fellow in cardiothoracic anesthesia, perfusionist, or any other anesthesia practitioner, this is one book you should definitely keep close by. FEATURES * Insightful perspectives from acknowledged authorities address thoracic anesthesia and pain management in cardiac and thoracic procedures * New chapters covering cardiac physiology and pericardial disease * Additional content addressing adult congenital heart disease and the latest advances in percutaneous valves * Full-color design throughout helps to highlight critical concepts * TEE images in full-color provide detailed intraoperative views of cardiovascular structures and activity * Key points are summarized at the beginning of each chapter with references to the appropriate section of the text
Smith's Anesthesia for Infants and Children by
Smith's Anesthesia for Infants and Children, 8th Edition, edited by Drs. Peter J. Davis, Franklyn P. Cladis, and Etsuro K. Motoyama, delivers all the state-of-the-art guidance you need to provide optimal perioperative care for any type of pediatric surgery. Now in full color throughout, it also features online access to an image and video library, including ultrasound-guided pediatric regional blocks, review-style questions, plus the complete fully-searchable text at expertconsult.com. Get expert guidance from leading experts covering both basic science and clinical practice for every aspect of pediatric anesthesia. Incorporate the latest clinical guidelines and innovations in your practice. Find key facts fast with quick-reference appendices: drug dosages, growth curves, normal values for pulmonary function tests, and a listing of common and uncommon syndromes. Access the complete contents and illustrations online at expertconsult.com - fully searchable! Watch online video demonstrations of ultrasound-guided and conventional pediatric regional blocks, airway management, cardiac anesthesia, single-lung ventilation, neonatal surgery, and fetal surgery. Gain new insight into today's hottest topics, including sleep-disordered breathing, cuffed endotracheal tubes, premedication, emergence agitation, postoperative vomiting, and new airway devices. Stay current with new chapters on ICU management, conjoined twins, and basic neonatal physiology, plus new coverage of pharmacology and monitoring techniques. Get outstanding visual guidance with full-color illustrations throughout the book. The most comprehensive text for pediatric anesthesia is now improved with online access, video content and a full color text.
Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease by
With Stoelting s Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease, you ll have the succinct, yet thorough guidance you need to successfully avoid or manage complications stemming from pre-existing medical conditions. Advanced research from experts in the field will help you overcome the toughest challenges in practice, letting you offer your patients the best care, each and every time.Deliver anesthesia as safely as possible with extensive coverage of the pathophysiology of numerous coexisting conditions. Effectively manage special patient populations with a focus on pediatric, geriatric, and adult patients. Master the ins and outs of a wide range of diseases, from common to rare, through detailed discussions of each disease s unique features. Stay at the forefront of your field with the most updated information on each coexisting condition s definition; current pathophysiology; significant pre-, intra-, and postoperative factors of the disease process; anesthetic judgment; and management. Keep current with changing patient populations with a new chapter on managing morbidly obese patients. Access the information you need quickly thanks to a disease-based organization. Overcome the toughest challenges your with the latest guidelines and evidence integrated into each chapter. "
Stoelting's Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice by
Ensure safe and effective patient management with Stoelting's Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice. This best-selling clinical reference provides comprehensive, current, clinically oriented, authoritative information on all aspects of pharmacology and physiology that are relevant to anesthesiology, equipping you to make the most informed clinical decisions about the care of your patients. Key Features Apply the latest knowledge with coverage of all new drugs, as well as new findings on the actions and interactions of established drugs. Prepare for certification and recertification exams with the most widely respected reference on anesthetic pharmacology and physiology. Benefit from the authority of a "who's who" in contemporary anesthesiology, under the masterful editorial leadership of Dr. Robert K. Stoelting's chosen successors. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Complete suite of clinical and educational content from leading books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21st ed.
University of Michigan-Flint
