LibGuides: Anesthesia: A Guide to Library Research: Overview

Welcome to the Anesthesia Research Guide!

Research in anesthesia primarily means searching for journal articles. The most comprehensive databases for this purpose are PubMed (the largest biomedical research database in the world) and CINAHL (the Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature). You will find links to these databases and other help with anesthesia research on this guide.

Frequently Used Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Primary journal index for anesthesia, nursing and other allied health professions.
1937-present. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters.
Video tutorials:
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 21 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.

Proximity searching is available, which allows you to find terms within specified distances from each other.

Includes journal literature, 1950-present; selected online books. This version uses Outside Tool to link to resources at UM-Flint.
Video tutorials:
MEDLINE via Ovid This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of medicine and health care administration. Includes some nursing and allied health.
Some users have recently had to reset their passwords to use all the features of Ovid-based MEDLINE. Contact a librarian if you have any questions.
1946-present. MEDLINE is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.

MEDLINE and its content is also available in other versions:
- MEDLINE via FirstSearch
- MEDLINE via Web of Science
- PubMed: Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care clinical information resource with emphasis on internal medicine, obstetrics & gynecology, and family practice. Requires login both ON and OFF campus. You must then create a personal account.
iOS and Android mobile apps available. No guest access.
Covers 9,100+ topics in 20 specialties; graded treatment recommendations; links to referenced articles (when available); drug database & drug interactions program, including adult, pediatric, international, & natural drugs with drug-to-drug, drug-to-herb, and herb-to-herb interactions; medical calculators.

Citing UpToDate using APA style