LibGuides: Biology: A Guide to Library Research: Wildlife & Field Biology, Ecology & Botany

Wildlife & Field Biology, Ecology & Botany

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of environmental science and related disciplines, and including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management), and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Includes content from these databases:
- AGRICOLA
- Aqualine
- Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
- Biotechnology Research Abstracts
- Ecology Abstracts
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts
- Environmental Impact Statements
- Health & Safety Science Abstracts
- Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
- Pollution Abstracts
- Risk Abstracts
- Sustainability Science Abstracts
- Toxicology Abstracts
- TOXLINE
- Water Resources Abstracts
Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
Books, journals, and other materials on biodiversity from a worldwide consortium of natural history, botanical, research, and national libraries. Provides free access to hundreds of thousands of volumes from the 15th to the 21st centuries.
Biology, Environment, & Ecology Databases on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Collection of five major collections in biology, environmental sciences, ecology, and agriculture.
Includes these collections:
- Agricola: Millions of records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library dating back to 1970. The citations include journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
- Biological & Agricultural Index Plus: 1983-present. Agriculture, animal husbandry, botany, cytology, ecology, entomology, environmental science, fishery sciences, food science, forestry, genetics, horticulture, microbiology, plant pathology, soil science, veterinary medicine, zoology.
- Environment Complete: Coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
- GreenFILE: Articles, books and government documents on global warming, environmental protection and renewable energy.
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide: Covers 1935 & earlier to the present, and is the world's largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Most of the records in this database are from Wildlife Review Abstracts, which offers a global perspective and is the most comprehensive resource on wildlife information. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more.
Gale OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Nearly 200 titles focused on agriculture and its related fields: from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Online database of over 10,000 bird species globally.
Online database of over 10,000 global bird species, featuring: written material from Birds of North America, Handbook of the Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World; interactive content from the Macaulay Library at Cornell; and hundreds of millions of observations from eBird. Searchable by species, topic, or keyword, or you can browse using the avian taxonomy explorer. Each species account covers life history and behavior; range, abundance, and migration maps; habitat descriptions; and conservation and management guidelines. All information is regularly updated with the latest research findings from leading researchers.
Botanicus (Missouri Botanical Garden Botanicus Collection) This link opens in a new window
1480-1950. Historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science, plus full text ebooks and open access content.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.

Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).

Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer.
PLOS (Public Library of Science) This link opens in a new window
Provides open-access peer-reviewed scientific and medical journal articles and journals.
Includes these journals, which were formerly on separate websites:
- PLOS Biology
- PLOS Climate
- PLOS Computational Biology
- PLOS Digital Health
- PLOS Genetics
- PLOS Global Public Health
- PLOS Medicine
- PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases
- PLOS ONE
- PLOS Pathogens
- PLOS Sustainability and Transformation
- PLOS Water

Field Biology, Ecology, & Botany Reference Books

The Facts on File Dictionary of Ecology and the Environment by Jill Bailey (Editor); Facts on File, Inc. Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: QH 540.4 .F35 2004
ISBN: 9780816049226
Publication Date: 2003-11-01
The Facts On File Dictionary of Environmental Science covers the terms and concepts used in the high school Advanced Placement course in environmental science. Like the subject - which is interdisciplinary and involves ideas from a number of fields of study - this volume deals with the science behind interrelationships of the natural world as well as with natural and human environmental problems. In terms high school and undergraduate students will understand, it explains the underlying principle of environmental science which holds that the Earth is a single interconnected system that can be altered by human activity and that cultural, social, and economic factors are vital to the development of environmental solutions and it defines the various terms, issues, and ideas that constitute the fundamental elements of the science.
Michigan Trees by Burton V. Barnes; Warren H. Wagner
Call Number: QK 167 .B27 2004
ISBN: 0472089218
Publication Date: 2004-01-28
Now in its tenth decade of publication, Michigan Trees has been, since it was first introduced in 1913, the must-have reference book for anyone who wants to know about the trees of this unique North American region. In this new and updated edition, several new species have been added to the lineup, as well as sections on tree ecology and fall color. Written and illustrated in a style that appeals at once to academic botanists and armchair arborphiles alike, Michigan Trees gives readers everything they need to know for identifying trees in the Great Lakes state. Included with each description are fascinating notes and asides (for example, this tidbit on the jack pine: "Parklike or savanna stands in north-central Michigan are prime habitat for the rare Kirtland's warbler that breeds nowhere else in the world."). Also includes a tree key and identification section illustrated with elegantly simple line drawings that reveal the tiny, signature details that make each tree unique. Burton V. Barnes is Professor of Forestry at the University of Michigan. Formerly a research forester, he is best known for his research and publications in forest ecology and forest genetics. Warren H. Wagner, Jr. was a world authority on ferns. He had been Professor Emeritus of Botany and Natural Resources at the University of Michigan before his death at the age of 80 in 2000.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies by William Ashworth; Charles E. Little
Call Number: TD 9 .A84 2001
ISBN: 0816042551
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
Praise for the previous edition: ...a readable, informative source...highly recommended for public and undergraduate libraries..., Choice an up-to date dictionary...useful to activists, students, and others who need clear definitions...for terms in environmental literature..., Booklist ...a very useful source of basic explanations of terms related to one of today's very hot topics. , Wilson Library Bulletin ...a major contribution to helping the diverse constituency of environmentalism speak the same language. , American Reference Books Annual Written by two experts in the field

Wildlife Biology Reference Books

Grzimeks Animal Life Encyclopedia
Call Number: QL 7 .G7813 2003
ISBN: 0787657867
Publication Date: 2002-10-04
Gale proudly presents the first completely revised and updated version of this acclaimed set in 30 years. Some reviewers call Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia the best reference work on animals ever published. Others call it the legacy left to us by famed zoologist and animal lover, Bernhard Grzimek. The accolades and praise go on for the newest addition to Gale's line of reference titles. The original 13-vol. set, published in Germany in the late 1960s, is internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. Staying true to the original scientific pedigree, Gale enlisted prominent advisors and contributors from the international scientific community to incorporate recent developments in the animal world. Our new editions of Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia are sure to serve the needs of students at every academic level.
A Dictionary of Entomology by George Gordh (Compiled by); David Headrick
Call Number: QL 462.3 .G67 2001
ISBN: 0851992919
Publication Date: 2001-03-29
This book is a comprehensive, fully cross-referenced collection of approximately 35,000 terms, names and phrases used in entomology. It is the only listing which covers insect anatomy, behavior, biology, ecology, histology, molecular biology, morphology, pest management, taxonomy and systematics. The origin, etymology, part of speech, plural forms and definition of each term and phrase are all provided, including the language, meaning or root of each term and constituent parts. Where meanings have changed, or terms have been borrowed from other disciplines, the most current usage is indicated. Names of deceased entomologists, or scientists from other fields who have contributed to entomology are included, with the citation for their biography or obituary. The list of names in this magnificent reference is global, including entomologists from Asia, whose research has often been neglected by Western scientists.
A Dictionary of Zoology by Michael Allaby (Editor)
Call Number: QL 9 .D52 2003
ISBN: 019860758X
Publication Date: 2003-09-18
Dictionary of Zoology is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals. Containing over 5,000 entries on everything from animal behavior, ecology, and physiology to genetics, cytology, and evolution, the dictionary offers full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals. It is illustrated with clear line drawings, and supported by useful appendices on the genetic code, endangered animals, and SI units. Completely revised to incorporate the discovery of "extremophiles"--organisms living in environments formerly considered impossibly hostile--and the toxonomic reclassification that this has entailed, Dictionary of Zoology is ideal for students and will be invaluable to amateur naturalists and all those with an interest in zoology.