LibGuides: Biology: A Guide to Library Research: Human Biology

Human Biology

PLOS (Public Library of Science) This link opens in a new window
Provides open-access peer-reviewed scientific and medical journal articles and journals.
Includes these journals, which were formerly on separate websites:
- PLOS Biology
- PLOS Climate
- PLOS Computational Biology
- PLOS Digital Health
- PLOS Genetics
- PLOS Global Public Health
- PLOS Medicine
- PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases
- PLOS ONE
- PLOS Pathogens
- PLOS Sustainability and Transformation
- PLOS Water
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 21 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.

Proximity searching is available, which allows you to find terms within specified distances from each other.

Includes journal literature, 1950-present; selected online books. This version uses Outside Tool to link to resources at UM-Flint.
Video tutorials:
Anatomage TableOnCloud Interactive Anatomy Software This link opens in a new window
Virtual anatomy dissection software. No guest access.
Database Types: Images; Video; Web Based Software
TableOnCloud is a web-based version of the Anatomage Table that allows users to remotely access the full content and functionality of the Table. The Anatomage Table is the most technologically advanced 3D anatomy visualization and virtual dissection tool for anatomy and physiology education.

The Anatomage Table is the first virtual dissection table to utilize real, life-size digital cadavers to accurately represent the human body. Users can visualize anatomy exactly as they would on a fresh cadaver. Individual structures are reconstructed in accurate 3D, resulting in an unprecedented level of real accurate anatomy, dissectible in 3D.

Anatomage offers 4 gross anatomy cases, more than 30 high-resolution regional anatomy cases, and more than 1000 pathological examples, including animal cases. With Anatomages cadavers, thousands of structures are meticulously segmented from photographic images to deliver the most accurate real 3D anatomy.
- To use TableOnCloud, a reservation is required. Users will be emailed the login information after making a reservation.
- Only one user from an institution can interact with TableOnCloud at a time. Multiple users from the same institution with the same login credentials can be logged into TableOnCloud at one time.
- TableOnCloud image use is allowed for any educational purposes.
- License required from Anatomage for image use in a professional article. (contact thl-anatomage-help@umich.edu for assistance)
- Free Anatomage support can assist you with custom cadaver presets for use on the Anatomage Table or TableOnCloud.
For TableOnCloud instruction and group projects, we recommend video conferencing apps, like Zoom, to share your TableOnCloud screen with colleagues or students. The TableOnCloud Tips sheet has some great suggestions on how to effectively use TableOnCloud for group projects.

Human Biology Reference Books

The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution by Larry L. Mai; Marcus Young Owl; M. Patricia Kersting
Call Number: QP 34.5 .M24 2005
ISBN: 0521664861
Publication Date: 2005
The Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution (DHBE) is an invaluable research and study tool for both professionals and students covering a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology and zoology. Packed with 13000 descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, DHBE also includes information on over 1000 word roots, taxonomies and reference tables for extinct, recent and extant primates, geological and oxygen isotope chronologies, illustrations of landmarks, bones and muscles and an illustration of current hominid phylogeny, making this a must-have volume for anyone with an interest in human biology or evolution. DHBE is especially complete in its inventory of archaeological sites and the best-known hominid specimens excavated from them, but also includes up-to-date information on terms such as in silico, and those relating to the rapidly developing fields of human genomics.
The Oxford Companion to the Body by Colin Blakemore (Editor); Sheila Jennett (Editor)
Call Number: QM 7 .O96 2001
ISBN: 9780198524038
Publication Date: 2002
Here is a delightfully diverse, informative look at the human body, combining medical and physiological fact with articles that offer cultural, mythological, religious, historical, and artistic perspectives. In over 1200 alphabetically arranged entries, The Oxford Companion to the Body covers every aspect of human anatomy as well as related topics that range from Aggression, Aspirin, and Anxiety, to Warts, Whistling, Yoga, and X-Rays. Attractively designed with over 400 illustrations--including 15 full-color plates focusing on human physiology--this engrossing Companion shows how the body works, how it grows, develops, and ages, how it goes wrong, and even how it has inspired artists through the centuries. There are profiles of historical figures who have made important contributions to our understanding of the body, such as Galen, Vesalius, and da Vinci. There are also concise and readable accounts of the structures of all major systems of the body, their processes, and the diseases that affect them, from the nervous system to the skeleton to the brain. But one of the pleasures of the book is the many unexpected entries to come across: Body Language and Brain Death, Freckles and Frostbite, Potty Training and Phantom Limbs, Sleep Disorders and Survival at Sea. The volume also boasts general essays that describe how the body is seen in Zen Buddhism, Islam, mythology, and other disciplines. Written by over 250 experts, under the guidance of a distinguished editorial board, with full cross-referencing and suggested further reading, The Oxford Companion to the Body is both an authoritative resource and a browser's delight.