LibGuides: Biology: A Guide to Library Research: Molecular Biology, Biotechnology & Genetics

Molecular Biology, Biotechnology & Genetics

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Extensive coverage of environmental science and related disciplines, and including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management), and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Includes content from these databases:
- AGRICOLA
- Aqualine
- Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
- Biotechnology Research Abstracts
- Ecology Abstracts
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts
- Environmental Impact Statements
- Health & Safety Science Abstracts
- Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
- Pollution Abstracts
- Risk Abstracts
- Sustainability Science Abstracts
- Toxicology Abstracts
- TOXLINE
- Water Resources Abstracts
ChEMBL
Manually curated database of bioactive molecules with drug-like properties. It brings together chemical, bioactivity, and genomic data to aid the translation of genomic information into effective new drugs [from the website].
NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
Platform for biomedical and genomic databases, journal articles, and e-books.
PLOS (Public Library of Science)
Provides open-access peer-reviewed scientific and medical journal articles and journals.
Includes these journals, which were formerly on separate websites:
- PLOS Biology
- PLOS Climate
- PLOS Computational Biology
- PLOS Digital Health
- PLOS Genetics
- PLOS Global Public Health
- PLOS Medicine
- PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases
- PLOS ONE
- PLOS Pathogens
- PLOS Sustainability and Transformation
- PLOS Water
PubMed
Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 21 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.

Proximity searching is available, which allows you to find terms within specified distances from each other.

Includes journal literature, 1950-present; selected online books. This version uses Outside Tool to link to resources at UM-Flint.
Video tutorials:

Molecular Biology, Biotechnology & Genetics Reference Books

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology by Paul Singleton; Diana Sainsbury
Call Number: QR 9 .S56 2001

ISBN: 0470035455

Publication Date: 2006-10-16

This Third, Revised Edition of a unique, encyclopaedic reference work covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology in one volume. The Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology, Third Edition, Revised: <ul> <li>Reflects the latest developments in the field</li> <li>Features over 18,000 entries from concise definitions of terms to review-length articles</li> <li>Provides extensive cross-referencing between topics</li> <li>Includes numerous references from scientific journals and other relevant sources</li> </ul> With its wide-ranging description of different areas of microbiology, the Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology, Third Edition, Revised is an indispensable reference for every researcher, lecturer and student.
Atlas of Immunology by J. M. Cruse; R. E. Lewis
Call Number: QR 182 .C78 2004

ISBN: 0849315670

Publication Date: 2003-12-29

With more than 1,250 computer-generated figures, line drawings, and photographs, Atlas of Immunology clearly demonstrates that a picture is worth a thousand words. Written for students, basic scientists, and clinicians, this second edition provides a thorough and up-to-date treatment of all the concepts needed to comprehend contemporary immunology. The coverage ranges from photographs of historical figures to molecular structures of recently characterized cytokines, major histocompatibility complex molecules, immunoglobins, and molecules of related interest.
An A to Z of DNA Science by Jeffre L. Witherly; Galen P. Perry; Darryl L. Leja
Call Number: QH 427 .W58 2001

ISBN: 9780879696009

Publication Date: 2001-08-30

Medical science constantly demands our attention, as patients or relatives, concerned citizens, voters, investors, or simply curious individuals. But for those without training, the language of science is often hard to follow. The A to Z of DNA Science book series defines and illustrates specialized terms in ways that non-specialists can appreciate and enjoy. This volume focuses on the language of genes, genomes, DNA, biotechnology, and heredity, defining, explaining, and illustrating over 200 terms used in books, broadcasting, websites, and newspaper and magazine articles.
The Dictionary of Gene Technology by Gunter Kahl; Günter Kahl
Call Number: QH 506 .K333 2004

ISBN: 3527307656

Publication Date: 2004-06-29

The most up-to-date and comprehensive collection of technical terms of gene technology and related disciplines, such as genomics, transcriptomics and proteomics, pointing to the forefront of this modern and extremely rapidly evolving science. More than 2,500 new terms have been added to the previous 6,500 terms in the best-selling second edition. This dramatic increase reflects the unprecedented and literally explosive development of novel technologies, new insights in genic and genomic biology, and the worldwide marketing of such achievements. They also bear witness to current tendencies towards miniaturization and the increasing involvement of bioinformatics. Extensive explanations, comprehensive and simple diagrams and illustrations accompany the terms, providing outstanding access to the complexities of gene technology in its broadest sense. Moreover, the ever-growing jungle of acronyms and exotic jargon has been structured for less confusion and more translucence. Multiple cross-references enable a broad readership, layman and expert alike, to form networks linking the various terms in context and to understand relationships between gene technology and genetics, molecular genetics, biochemistry, biotechnology, microbiology and applied sciences. Seasoned researchers, newcomers, students, R & D officials, politicians, journalists and biotech company representatives will all benefit from this user-friendly dictionary in coping with the boom in this exciting science.