Over the last few months, we at the Thompson Library have been busy fine-tuning our A-Z list of databases, and we have some new listings to check out. Here is a sample:
OSTI.gov is an open access database from the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information, and it contains millions of energy-related scholarly articles and reports, as well as e-books, videos, datasets, software, and other formats of information. Most of the things you find in OSTI.gov are Federal Government publications, but it also contains links to articles and books from outside sources. If you're not on campus, some of these outside links may take you to a paywall, but don't get out your credit card just yet! We have some "bookmarklets" and the LibKey Nomad browser extension you can install on your favorite browser in seconds. Then you can use one of these browser tools to open the article or book if we have access to it. (In fact, please don't ever pay for an article you need without checking first to see if the library has it or can help you get it. If you're not sure how to do this, a librarian will gladly help).
If you want to know the history of a Federal law's enactment, Legislative Insight is a great resource. The legislative histories it provides include a law's text, plus a host of supporting documents. People doing research in U.S. history, political science, public policy, or anything affected by Federal regulation may find this product useful. And if you want to bring legal insights to a law you're researching, HeinOnline is now available to Flint users, courtesy of the UM Law Library in Ann Arbor.
If you're in the health sciences, GLOWM: Global Library of Women's Medicine is worth a look. It's easily searchable, and has over two dozen online volumes of The Continuous Textbook of Women’s Medicine Series, with more volumes planned. As the title suggests, the Continuous Textbook is constantly updated by experts around the world. If you're at point-of-care, or studying to be there, MDCalc is a great reference for clinical decisions, and includes medical calculators. And if you’re in a transcultural health care setting, EthnoMed has helpful information about a number of refugee, religious, and ethnic populations.
Do you have a great idea that you hope to bring to market one day? You'd better check on relevant patents or other intellectual property. One of our newest databases can help: InnovationQ Plus.
These and more are now on our A-Z list. You can find the newest additions on the lower right side of any of our A-Z Database pages, or by selecting "New Resource" in the A-Z list's Database Type menu.
University of Michigan-Flint
0 Comments.