To ring in the New Year, the Thompson Library went live with our new A-Z list of databases that we announced a few months ago. It has features that we hope you find helpful.
Flags. Some databases are particularly useful for particular user groups, or have special options or features. Flags call attention to these.
More descriptions. We can organize information about databases a little better. Getting more detailed information about the database and access options is (we hope!) more intuitive, and includes details about database content and how to access that content.
Landing pages. Some databases are just more complicated than most, or have things that people will want to know about like mobile apps or requirements for individual accounts. For these databases, clicking on the link will take you to a page with more information, as well as a link into the database. We are using this new feature selectively, because we think that fewer clicks is usually better, but sometimes an extra click can save people time in the long run.
Leaner & meaner. We pared down our A-Z list from about 1,200 databases to under 850. We didn't get rid of anything, but some databases were combined to eliminate redundancy, or because they enjoyed very little use, and are listed in the Catalog and/or through Search All. The goal is to make the A-Z list less confusing and overwhelming to new users, and to make it easier to find what you need.
We hope you like the new format. Let us know what you think!
University of Michigan-Flint
0 Comments.