Monday, October 12, 2020 is Indigenous Peoples' Day in the United States. Instead of celebrating genocide and settler colonialism, this list highlights some recent publications by Indigenous American authors, spanning fiction, nonfiction, memoir, and poetry. Also listed are some primary source databases available from the library on Indigenous Americans, and some podcasts on indigenous topics.
Libraries and librarians have the responsibility of selecting, preserving, and making available books and other materials for education and entertainment that offer a diverse and inclusive range of perspectives. This means we must be active in our amplification of voices that for too long have been underrepresented, unheard, or oppressed. This list is short, and doesn't even begin to include books with academic analysis, or any of the many other devastating instances of colonialism worldwide, but is a small step we can all take towards decolonizing our bookshelves and ourselves.
We recognize that UM-Flint and Thompson Library stands on the ancestral lands of Anishinabewaki ᐊᓂᔑᓈᐯᐗᑭ, Mississauga, and oθaakiiwaki‧hina‧ki (Sauk) land. Find out what Indigenous land you live on via native-land.ca or this chatbot: m.me/LandAcknowledgement
***
My Home As I Remember by
Soul Talk, Song Language by
The Beadworkers by
Living on the Borderlines by
Shapes of Native Nonfiction by
Bury My Heart at Chuck E. Cheese's by
Eyes Bottle Dark with a Mouthful of Flowers by
Indigenous Peoples: North America [Database] - Archive of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, periodicals and photographs on native North Americans. Extensive historical collection of materials on the indigenous peoples of North America. Sources include the National Archives and the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library, the Alaska Indian Language Collection of Gonzaga University, and the W.S. Prettyman photograph collection of Wichita State University.
North American Indian Thought and Culture [Database] - Largest compilation of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. North American Indian Thought and Culture contains around 120,000 pages of text and images, including biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched thoroughly. Full-length reference works also are included to give background and context to the narratives.
All My Relations [Podcast] - A podcast where hosts Matika Wilbur (Tulalip and Swinomish) and Adrienne Keene (Cherokee Nation) explore what it means to be a Native person today To be an Indigenous person is to be engaged in relationships—relationships to land and place, to a people, to non-human relatives, and to one another. All My Relations is a place to explore those relationships, and to think through Indigeneity in all its complexities.
This Land [Podcast] - An 1839 assassination of a Cherokee leader and a 1999 murder case – two crimes nearly two centuries apart provide the backbone to a 2020 Supreme Court decision that determined the fate of five tribes and nearly half the land in Oklahoma.
***
Search for more e-books and audiobooks: https://libguides.umflint.edu/ebooks/atoz
How to search for and use e-books [video tutorials]
Questions? Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan-Flint
0 Comments.