Business: A Guide to Library Research

Provides access to current and historical financial information on 15,000 US and 20,000 foreign companies, both active and inactive, including firm description, statistics, and financial information, as well as annual reports. Mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock and insider trading are also provided in the company records. Historical data is available for the past 15 years. Company reports and financials can be exported to Excel.

Includes Mergent Horizon data about a firm's products; its relationships with its major customers, suppliers, and partners; its competitors; its financials; and the industry space in which it operates.

Information on nearly twenty-four million companies, including large and mid-sized companies in the United States and Canada, and hundreds of thousands of companies world-wide. Includes contacts and emails, analysis of company operations, actions and changes, plus additional data points such as technologies (software, etc.) used at a company. D&B Hoovers aggregates and enhances content from over 30 diverse content providers representing 2,000 separate information sources including Reuters, CorpTech, Investext, RMA Industry Ratios, and StatUSA.

Due to license restrictions, access to the 500 most popular articles from Harvard Business Review is read-only--no printing, downloading, or direct linking to these 500 articles is permitted. All other HBR articles are fully accessible to all current U-M students, faculty, and staff with no such restrictions.

Use Policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of EBSCO Business Source Complete."

Technical notes: Please log out of this resource as directed when finished. Failing to log out may prevent others from using the database. Downloads are limited to 100 documents per PDF. 

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Factiva." Traders may not use this database.

Guide to using Dow Jones Factiva

Digital collection of historical Moody's, Hoover's, Dun & Bradstreet, and Mergent publications. Coverage dates range from 1909-present, depending on the source. The collection includes:

• Moody's/Mergent Corporate Manuals
• Dun & Bradstreet's Key Business Ratios
• Million Dollar Directory
• Hoover's Handbooks
• Historical International Company Annual Reports

Most publications are only available as a PDF download. These files can be quite large.

Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines.

Orbis has information about 40 million companies, including 18 million European companies from 46 countries, 16 million US and Canadian companies, 6.5 million South and Central American companies, 1.3 million Japanese companies, 300,000 Chinese companies, and 90,000 African companies. Orbis includes information about 30,000 banks and 8,000 insurance companies.

Users are required to enter "University of Michigan" in the "Enter your organization's name" box to authenticate and use the database.Technical Notes: Use of scripts or automated methods to download data from Orbis is strictly prohibited. If you require access to a larger dataset, please contact kresge_library@umich.edu.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Orbis." This database is for personal use only, meaning that you should never share your log-in credentials for this resource.

Searchable by financial data, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, related companies, and more.

Information on nearly twenty-four million companies, including large and mid-sized companies in the United States and Canada, and hundreds of thousands of companies world-wide. Includes contacts and emails, analysis of company operations, actions and changes, plus additional data points such as technologies (software, etc.) used at a company. D&B Hoovers aggregates and enhances content from over 30 diverse content providers representing 2,000 separate information sources including Reuters, CorpTech, Investext, RMA Industry Ratios, and StatUSA.

Due to license restrictions, access to the 500 most popular articles from Harvard Business Review is read-only--no printing, downloading, or direct linking to these 500 articles is permitted. All other HBR articles are fully accessible to all current U-M students, faculty, and staff with no such restrictions.

Use Policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of EBSCO Business Source Complete."

Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines.

Orbis has information about 40 million companies, including 18 million European companies from 46 countries, 16 million US and Canadian companies, 6.5 million South and Central American companies, 1.3 million Japanese companies, 300,000 Chinese companies, and 90,000 African companies. Orbis includes information about 30,000 banks and 8,000 insurance companies.

Users are required to enter "University of Michigan" in the "Enter your organization's name" box to authenticate and use the database.Technical Notes: Use of scripts or automated methods to download data from Orbis is strictly prohibited. If you require access to a larger dataset, please contact kresge_library@umich.edu.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Orbis." This database is for personal use only, meaning that you should never share your log-in credentials for this resource.

Due to license restrictions, access to the 500 most popular articles from Harvard Business Review is read-only--no printing, downloading, or direct linking to these 500 articles is permitted. All other HBR articles are fully accessible to all current U-M students, faculty, and staff with no such restrictions.

Use Policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of EBSCO Business Source Complete."

Information on nearly twenty-four million companies, including large and mid-sized companies in the United States and Canada, and hundreds of thousands of companies world-wide. Includes contacts and emails, analysis of company operations, actions and changes, plus additional data points such as technologies (software, etc.) used at a company. D&B Hoovers aggregates and enhances content from over 30 diverse content providers representing 2,000 separate information sources including Reuters, CorpTech, Investext, RMA Industry Ratios, and StatUSA.