LibGuides: Business: A Guide to Library Research: Market & Industry Resources

Industry Codes and Classification

Industrial Classification Systems Explanation

VIDEO: Industry Codes and How to Use Them.
Short instructional video explains NAICS and SIC codes, how to find them, and how to use them
NAICS - North American Industrial Classification System
Standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Market & Industry Resources

ACSI: American Customer Satisfaction Index This link opens in a new window
National cross-industry measure of customer satisfaction in the United States. Measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with products and services offered by firms with significant share in U.S. markets.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Market research reports and market forecasting in advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies. Includes the podcast "You Should Know This."
Business & Management Collections on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of business-related news, scholarly articles, case studies, company profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, financial data, reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, and trade journals.
Includes these collections:
- Bloomberg Businessweek Archive
- Business Abstracts with Full Text
- Business Book Summaries
- Business Source Complete
- Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1774-1901
- eBook Business Collection
- Entrepreneurial Studies Source
- Human Resources Abstracts
- Regional Business News
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1886-present. Case studies, company profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, financial data, industry reports, investment research reports, market research reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, trade journals. All aspects of business.
Due to license restrictions, access to the 500 most popular articles from Harvard Business Review is read-only--no printing, downloading, or direct linking to these 500 articles is permitted. All other HBR articles are fully accessible to all current U-M students, faculty, and staff with no such restrictions.

Use Policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of EBSCO Business Source Complete."
eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Market research information about the Internet, e-business, online marketing, and emerging technologies. Please log out when finished; failing to log out may prevent others from using this database.
Aggregated from over 1,700 sources. Includes analyst reports, daily research articles, and e-business and online.
Help guide (pdf)
Video tutorial
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Information on companies globally, including SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies, and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets, and more.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
"Country Culture" database containing 126 information modules of structured content for 175 countries.
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
Industry research across an extensive range of industries. Note: Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session.
IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, products & markets, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, cost structure, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends. iExpert reports are brief executive summaries of broader reports. Risk Ratings reports highlight structural risk, growth risk, and sensitivity risk.

Technical notes: Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session. Exceeding this limit blocks access for the entire University. If you have a research need beyond this limit, please contact the Kresge Library in Ann Arbor at kresge_library@umich.edu.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Includes information from Hoover's and Dun & Bradstreet.

Google Finance
Google pulls its financial data from open sources (such as SEC filings).
Office of Industry Analysis - US Dept of Commerce (Trade)
Trade analysis to create and implement innovative trade and investment strategies for U.S. businesses.
more info...less info...
-Evaluates the potential effects of U.S government regulations and domestic policies on industries.

-Maximizes U.S. gains in trade negotiations and support the enforcement of U.S. trade laws.

-Provides trade and industry data to underpin the development of national economic policies

Monthly Labor Review This link opens in a new window
Publication of the Bureau of Labor Statistics (US Dept of Labor). Includes articles and statistics on employment and unemployment, wages, prices and prices indexes.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Extensive industry, demographic, consumer, and economic data for numerous countries worldwide.
Includes forecast data, market data for 330 consumer products in 49 countries, data on 100,000 brands, and full text market analysis reports.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from foreign, US, and state governments, and businesses.
Indexes and abstracts federal statistical publications since 1974, business and state government publications since 1980, and international agency publications since 1983. Provides links to full text of 15% of federal publications. . Firefox recommended. Does not work with Safari.
Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistics on the population, economy, and life in the United States.
The US Census Bureau published the Statistical Abstract of the United States from 1878-2012. The company ProQuest picked up the series beginning in 2013.
ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
Online collection of statistical compendia from around the world.
These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. The first release includes data from 29 countries; more will be added later. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations and research firms will also be included.
Technavio This link opens in a new window
Over 17,000 industry reports covering technologies in ten different industries. Requires login on or off campus; no guest access.
Includes reports covering technologies in the Communication Services, Consumer Discretionary, Consumer Staples, Energy, Financials, Health Care, Industrials, Information Technology, Materials, and Utilities industries. Technical Notes: Downloading reports requires a valid @umich.edu email. Users are limited to 10 downloads per month with unlimited online report viewing.
USA Trade Online This link opens in a new window
Trade information from the U.S. government. Export and import data for over 18,000 commodities.
Provides trade information produced by the U.S. government. Current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities. Export and import data is also available by port.
UN Comtrade - United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database This link opens in a new window
Global statistics from the Statistics Division, Department of Economic & Social Affairs, United Nations.
VitalLaw This link opens in a new window
News, analysis, and legislation on federal, state, and international tax topics.
Formerly branded as Cheetah, VitalLaw includes the U.S. Master GAAP Guide with technical explanations of generally accepted accounting principles as documented in the Financial Accounting Standards Boards (FASB) Accounting Standards Codification (ASC).
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
Datasets from the World Bank. Includes World Development Indicators (WDI). Also includes Africa Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, and the Global Economic Monitor.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window
Official open access repository for the World Bank's research outputs and knowledge products.
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
Provides economic, social, and environmental indicators for 210 economies. From the World Bank.
The World Development Indicators (WDI) provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960. Specific series and countries/groups can be selected for specific year ranges, and data can be exported.