Retrospective digitization project of full-text journal articles published in Africa. Journal articles hosted on the Archive extend back to the first issue (if available) and end with the last pre-current issue.
Publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs.
The research, publications, speeches and archives of the leading international affairs think tank, The Royal Institute of International Affairs, Chatham House, London. High level analysis and research on almost 100 years of global events and issues. Includes 'behind the doors' insight into the real movers and shakers, influencers and deal brokers. For researchers of international affairs, economics, law, and business, diplomacy, security and terrorism, environment, development, war and peace studies.
Prizewinning history books, published electronically. Topics include, but are not limited to, Africa, Colonial Latin America, South Asia, Europe before 1800, Military History and History of Foreign Relations. 1999-present.
Includes world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. Provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Center is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.
Valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.
Lists articles, notes, etc. in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays on all aspects of medieval studies.
Covers 1967-present. Provides a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. Its editorial staff is based at the Institute for Medieval Studies at the University of Leeds, and the project is supported by over 50 teams of contributors in Europe, North America, Australia and Japan.
The IMB offers an unparalleled tool for medievalists to identify the contents of current work published throughout Europe, the Americas and the Asia-Pacific region.
The discipline areas to which the IMB is relevant include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies.
1895-present (varies by title). Includes citations from 1,600 scholarly journals in all areas of Medieval and Renaissance studies (400-1700).
Also included are: Iter Italicum, Renaissance Quarterly Online, Early Theatre, REED Newsletter, Renaissance and Reformation and the International Directory of Scholars. Browse the collections
Full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science, plus full text ebooks and open access content.
Access extended!Some journals in JSTOR are available for U-M Flint until June 30, 2023, after which they are expected to become unavailable. Many other journals will remain accessible.
Mostly 3-5 years & older full text. African American studies, anthropology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, general science, geography, history, language & literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, statistics.
Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 0 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range).
Hint: Use documents to find useful keywords and concepts, and retrieve matching JSTOR content, via JSTOR Text Analyzer
As a public service during the COVID-19 pandemic, JSTOR provided subscribing libraries access to journals free of charge. This expanded access is expected to expire on June 30, 2023, but the Thompson Library will continue to have permanent access to hundreds of journals through JSTOR. Please contact the Thompson Library if you have any questions.
1900-present. Systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.
40+ journals provides balanced coverage of both the current thought and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
Periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science. Covers 1980-present.
1972-present. Covers sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business, and education.
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Its sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Women's Studies International includes the following database files: Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, Women's Studies Database, Women Studies Librarian, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.
40+ journals provides balanced coverage of both the current thought and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
Provides full text, searchable access to important American magazines and newspapers from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Provides full text, searchable access to:
African-American Newspapers, Parts I-XII
? The Christian Recorder (18611902)
? The Colored American (18371841)
? Frederick Douglass Paper (18511855; 18591863)
? Freedoms Journal (18271829)
? The National Era (18471860)
? The North Star (18471851)
? Provincial Freeman (18541857)
? Weekly Advocate (18371837) Civil War, Parts I-IV Godey's Lady's Book, 1830-1898 The Liberator, Parts I & II, 1831-1840 The Lily, 1849-1856 The Pennsylvania Gazette, Parts I-IV, 1728-1800 Virginia Gazette
Magazine content from Ebony (1945-2014), JET (1951-2014), and the African American Historical Serials Collection (1816-1992).
Includes these collections:
Ebony Magazine Archive One of the key African-American magazines of the 20th century, covering 20th and 21st-Century current events, art, design, politics and culture, literature, advertising, and more. Includes covers and advertisements. Covers 1945 - 2014.
JET Magazine Archive: Covers the civil rights movement, politics, education, and other social topics with an African American focus. It includes over 3,000 issues providing a broad view of news, culture, and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014.
African American Historical Serials Collection: Newspapers and magazines from 1816 through 1992, in addition to reports and annuals from various African-American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
Created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States, viz., those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society, and the Library of Congress.
170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Includes academic & political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports, and other genres.
Essential books, pamphlets, & broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, covering African-American history, literature and culture.
Subjects include the West's discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World; the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought and racism; descriptions of African-American life - slave and free - throughout the Americas; and slavery and race in fiction and drama. Also featured are printed works of African-American individuals and organizations.
Can be cross-searched by keyword with African American Newspapers, African American Periodicals, and other Archive of Americana series.
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and ephemera. Includes series I, II, & supplements (1639-1819) and Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922.
Over 30,000 broadsides and ephemeral publications, 1749-1900.
Rare printed documents that were never intended to last. Includes notices, advertisements, playbills, music programs, menus, greeting cards, sailing cards, cookbooks, stamps and more, providing a unique perspective on early American life.
Over 30,000 broadsides and ephemeral publications, 1749-1900.
Rare printed documents that were never intended to last. Includes notices, advertisements, playbills, music programs, menus, greeting cards, sailing cards, cookbooks, stamps and more, providing a unique perspective on early American life.
1740-1940. Special interest & general magazines; literary & professional journals; children's & women's magazines; other historically significant periodicals.
Includes: America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922; America's Historical Imprints; Afro-Americana Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1535-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; African American Periodicals, 1825-1995; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
Collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Includes manuscript, book, and newspaper content.
Late twentieth century AP office archives from bureaus in Europe and the Middle East.
Content of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive. Includes wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more from the European Bureaus Collection: 1952-2000 and Middle East Bureaus Collection: 1967-2005.
Cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, periodicals, historical newspapers, and more.
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, Black Abolitionist Papers, and much more. At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, consisting of essays that provide an introduction to major topics in Black Studies. Black Studies Center provides the historical full-text of one of the most influential black newspapers in the United States, The Chicago Defender, as well as the Michigan Chronicle (1936-2010).
Digital archives of English-language periodicals published in, or about, China.
Includes these files:
Missionary, Sinology and Literary Periodicals, 1817-1949: A collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in, or about, China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until 1949 when the People's Republic of China was founded. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911-1949), when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic with modern approaches to politics, literature, education, public morality, and intellectual life.
Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China (1854-1949): Official correspondence, despatches, reports, memoranda, and private and confidential letters - constitute invaluable and often unique evidence of Chinese life, the economy and politics through the Taiping Rebellion, the Boxer Rebellion, the Revolution of 1911, the May 30 Movement, the two Sino-Japanese Wars, and the Chinese Civil War.
Digital images of books published during the 18th Century. Full-text searching; access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science & more.
Content of the Flint Journal, including articles, illustrations, advertisements, and other content. Includes images (1898-1995; 2018 to present), and text (1995 to present).
Provides cross-searching of 19 British and American historical newspapers and periodical archive collections, ranging from the 18th century until a few years ago.
Includes these newspapers and collections of newspapers, which can also be searched separately:
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive
British Library Newspapers, 1732-1950
Daily Mail Historical Archive
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021
Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)
Independent Historical Archive, 1986-2016
International Herald Tribune Historical Archive 1887-2013
Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006
Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2016
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019
Times Educational Supplement Historical Archive, 1910-2000
Combines primary source databases with British, American, and some international content. Allows analysis of content using frequency and term-relationship tools.
Includes these collections:
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society
Archives of Sexuality & Gender
Archives Unbound
Associated Press Collections Online
Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture
British Library Newspapers
China and the Modern World
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
The Economist Historical Archive
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
The Independent Historical Archive
Indigenous Peoples of North America
International Herald Tribune Historical Archive 1887-2013
Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991
The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, 16001970
The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 18001926
The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 16001926
The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 18231978
The Making of the Modern World
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Picture Post Historical Archive
Political Extremism and Radicalism
Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Smithsonian Collections Online
The Sunday Times Historical Archive
The Telegraph Historical Archive
The Times Digital Archive
Times Educational Supplement Historical Archive, 1910-2000
Searches content from a number of sources, including both partner content digitized by Google through their News Archive Partner Program and online archival materials that they've crawled.
Search results can include content that is freely accessible as well as content that requires a fee: be sure to check Journal Finder to see if the Thompson Library provides access to a source before paying a fee for it. Articles related to a single story within a given time period are grouped together to allow users to see a broad perspective on the topics they are searching. In addition to seeing results ranked by relevancy, users can also see a historical overview of the results by browsing an automatically generated timeline.
19th Century to Present: Which past years are covered, and what content is free, varies by each individual news source.
Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Includes many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, a national research project.
Digitized images of American magazines and journals detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th and early 20th centuries.
Includes these collections:
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5
American Civil War Periodicals, 1855-1868
American Political and Social Movements Periodicals, 1815-1884
American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891
Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877
Current Events and History Periodicals, 1691-1912
Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904
Hobbies, Socialization, and Sport Periodicals, 1775-1889
Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877
Military and Law Enforcement Periodicals, 1691-1877
Periodicals from Around the World, 1691-1880
Periodicals of the American West, 1779-1881
Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879
Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887
Digitized images of American magazines and journals detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century.
Includes these collections: Womens Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844 Womens Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865 Womens Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891
Digital archive of articles published by interned Japanese-Americans between 1942 and 1945.
Offers rare first-person accounts and seldom-heard voices. It contains 24,838 pages of articles published by interned Japanese-Americans between 1942 and 1945.
The 25 newspapers presented here are sourced from the Library of Congress. Many of the titles in this archive are complete or substantially complete. Editions have been carefully collated and omissions are noted. Although articles in these files frequently appear in Japanese, most of the papers are in English.
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Searchable access to the backfile of the New York Times (Late Eastern Edition), in full digitized page images.
Searchable access to the New York Times (Late Eastern Edition), from the first issue on September 18, 1851 to three months ago. Reproduces the complete full text of every issue in its original printed form, in full page images digitized from microfilm. Also incorporates indexing and subject headings from the New York Times Index, 1851-1993.
Digital primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.
Primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more from around the world, including from national libraries, academic and public libraries, and a variety of special collections, archives, and repositories.
Currently contains four collections:
Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
British Politics and Society
British Theatre, Music and Literature: High and Popular Culture
European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Custom ProQuest cross-search of full-text backfiles of 20 United States and 4 international English-language newspapers. Click "More" for individual titles.
Includes:
Arizona Republican (1890-1922)
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)? *
Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) *
Baltimore Sun (1837-1996)
Chicago Defender (1909-1975) *
Chicago Tribune (1849-2012)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-2008)
Cincinnati Enquirer? (1841-2009)
Cleveland Call and Post? (1934-1991) *
Dayton Daily News? (1898-1922)
Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)?
The Guardian (1821-2003) & The Observer (1791-2003)?
St. Petersburg Times / Tampa Bay Times (1901-2009)
U.S. Midwest Collection (various years of coverage)
Wall Street Journal (1889-2004)?
Washington Post (1877-2005)?
Windsor Star (1893-2010)
All the newspapers can be searched individually or in combinations in this database. They are listed separately in the A-Z list as "Historical Newspapers: Title." Newspapers noted with * are also searchable in the database Black Historical Newspapers.
1890-present. General, historical events, business, humanities, science, social science.
Includes two collections:
Readers Guide Full Text Mega includes indexing of over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles from over 250 journals as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes antiques, arts, business, computers, education, entertainment, film & television, gardening, health & medicine, history, home improvement, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, travel and much more.
Readers Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers Guide to Periodical Literature. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Archive of Smithsonian Magazine (1970-2010) and Air & Space Magazine (1986-2010).
The Smithsonian Institution is the world's largest museum and research complex--home to 19 museums, 9 research centers and over 137 million collection objects for the study of art, history, culture, and science. The Smithsonian's collections and fields of study focus on the American Experience, World Cultures, a Biodiverse Planet, and Exploring the Mysteries of the Universe.
Combining the full archive of Smithsonian Magazine and Air & Space Magazine, this resource brings these study themes into the pathway of students and faculty worldwide. It presents a unique and comprehensive insight into history, science, nature, the arts, innovation, technology, and world culture. Available in a fully searchable digital archive, these publications bring depth and expert coverage of high-demand topics in support of the Smithsonian Institution's mission of increase and diffusion of knowledge.
300-800 A.D. English translations of key historical sources in Greek, Latin, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Georgian, and Armenian, from the time of late antiquity and the early middle ages. Includes introductions and notes.
Brings together instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of conduct.
Searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books of instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. When complete, the collection will contain 150,000 pages that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading womens interest consumer magazines.
Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. These key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture. Includes:
Numerous publications for women. and including many female writers.
Includes the following collections, which can also be searched separately:
Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878
Womens Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844
Womens Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865
Womens Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891
Provides full text searchable access to historical newspapers published in Africa, East Europe, Latin America, and South Asia.
World Newspaper Archive is a fully-searchable, digital collection of historical newspapers newspapers from around the world. It includes a gradually expanding digitized backfiles of 19th and 20th century newspapers from Africa (1800-1922), East Europe (1835-1922), Latin America and Latin America Series 2 (1805-1922) and South Asia (1864-1922). As the project expands, it will grow to include newspapers from the Middle East and Southeast Asia.
Manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Rare and original documents from treaties, speeches, and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
Sources from the Everett D. Graff collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago. Includes a wide range of primary source materials on Native Americans, pioneers and explorers, homesteaders and cattle ranchers, on all aspects of the history of the western United States and Canada.
Guide to historical records, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world
Contains nearly a million collection descriptions contributed by thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. A combination of brief descriptions derived from catalog records in the RLG Union Catalog, and more detailed archival finding aids harvested from the Internet, including those that conform to the EAD (Encoded Archival Description) format standard.
Primary sources from the collections Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons and Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection, 1939-1945.
Primary sources from the collections American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893 and American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism.
Collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Includes manuscript, book, and newspaper content.
Late twentieth century AP office archives from bureaus in Europe and the Middle East.
Content of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive. Includes wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more from the European Bureaus Collection: 1952-2000 and Middle East Bureaus Collection: 1967-2005.
A digital collection of 23 interviews of former slaves out of 2,300 taken by the Works Progress Administration. The full print collection can be found under the call number E441 .A58.
Digital archives of English-language periodicals published in, or about, China.
Includes these files:
Missionary, Sinology and Literary Periodicals, 1817-1949: A collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in, or about, China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until 1949 when the People's Republic of China was founded. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911-1949), when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic with modern approaches to politics, literature, education, public morality, and intellectual life.
Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China (1854-1949): Official correspondence, despatches, reports, memoranda, and private and confidential letters - constitute invaluable and often unique evidence of Chinese life, the economy and politics through the Taiping Rebellion, the Boxer Rebellion, the Revolution of 1911, the May 30 Movement, the two Sino-Japanese Wars, and the Chinese Civil War.
Cross-searchable English-language sources relating to Chinas history, literature and culture, spanning three centuries from the 1800s to the modern era.
Includes these collections, which can also be used separately:
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980. Collection of English language sources detailing China's interaction with the West. Notable events such as the Macartney Embassy, Opium Wars, Taiping Rebellion, Boxer War, Great Leap Forward, Nixon visit, and more are represented by the documents in this collection. The collection includes letters, diaries, missionary periodicals, maps and drawings, and other documents to facilitate research into diplomatic and missionary interactions, as well as events related to business, trade, and tourism.
China: Culture and Society. Full-text, searchable rare East Asia pamphlets, as well as secondary resources, such as scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, mini guides, and editors choices.
China, America and the Pacific: Trade and Cultural Exchange. Trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America, and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Primary source materials for the study of the history of North American trade and cultural exchange with China. This collection also provides coverage of Chinas economic dealings with the whole of East Asia and the Pacific.
Digitized collection of Colonial Office files held at the UK National Archives.
Covering the period 1606 to 1822, this collection constitutes the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies. In particular, it includes correspondence of the colonial governments with the Board of Trade, the Secretary of State for the Southern Department, and the Secretary of State for the Colonies, together holding responsibility for the British possessions in mainland North America and the Caribbean.
Colonial America documents the early history of the colonies, and includes founding charters, material on the effects of 1688s Glorious Revolution in North America, records of piracy and seaborne rivalry with the French and Spanish, and copious military material from the French and Indian War of 1756-63.
Primary source documents from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries.
Colonial State Papers provides users with access to primary source documents from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries. The earliest English settlements in North America, encounters with Native Americans, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, the trade in slaves and English conflicts with the Spanish and French are all covered in this database. Combines two resources: CO 1: Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers and The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739.
This resource, along with other archival collections, documents various aspects of the history of Flint and Genesee County. It currently contains three collections, but others will be added.
The collections already included are:
Donald W. Riegle Papers, 1966-1994, containing mostly photographs from his career as Democratic Senator from Michigan and newsletters from his tenure as Republican and Democratic Congressman from Flint.
Lyman George Willcox Papers, 1830-1933, containing family photos and letters to this pioneer resident of Rochester, Michigan, and other Michigan towns. One photograph is the earliest known photo of Traverse City.
University of Michigan-Flint Labor History Project. This significant oral history project, carried on from 1978 to 1988 under the direction of Prof. Neil Leighton of the Political Science Department, contains over 160 interviews relating to the General Motors Corporation Sit-Down Strike of 1936-1937. The digitized collection includes almost all interviews, including the actual recordings and digitized transcripts. Keyword searching is possible, which makes this a unique and valuable resource for not only labor and radical history, but also for many aspects of the history of Flint.
Henry Howland Crapo Family Papers, 1851-1994. Henry Howland Crapo (1804-1869), after a successful career in New Bedford, Massachusetts, as a teacher, clerk, publisher, and horticulturalist, began in the 1850s to invest in Michigan public lands. He purchased pine lands in Lapeer County, and in order to develop them, he and his family moved to Flint in 1858. He built a sawmill and built a rail connection to Detroit, and his lumber output soon made him wealthy. He served as mayor of Flint, as state senator, and, from 1865 to 1869, as governor of Michigan. He also drained land near what is now Swartz Creek and established Crapo Farm, which passed to his son William Wallace Crapo and his descendants and remained in the family until 1955. His grandson William Crapo Durant organized the Buick Motor Company, largely with investment capital from family members. Most of Henry H. Crapo's papers went to the Michigan Historical Collections (Bentley Historical Library) in 1935. This collection consists of various letters, paper ephemera, and photographs donated by descendants of Crapo. The collection includes some biographies and letters of Crapo's son-in-law, Dr. James C. Willson; photographs and other material concerning Crapo Farm, and miscellaneous other material.
The Beginnings of the University of Michigan-Flint. The University of Michigan-Flint began in the fall of 1956 with a junior class only. The first freshman class was admitted in 1965. The path to the present university began during World War II, when C. S. Mott, Michael Gorman, and other civic leaders felt that this economically booming city could never reach greatness without a four-year college. The story of UM-Flint's founding was not smooth sailing all the way, however. The documents and photographs presented here tell the story of the school from its conception to the start of the development of the riverfront campus in 1974.
Contains themed collections of over 80,000 declassified and FOIA'd documents that led to U.S. policy decisions.
Consists of over 45 themed collections of more than 90,000 declassified and FOIA'd documents that led to U.S. policy decisions from 1942 to 2014. Includes collections on Afghanistan, Chile, China, Colombia, El Salvador, Iran, Japan, Korea, Nicaragua, Peru, the Philippines, South Africa, and the Soviet Union. Topic collections include The Berlin Crisis, the Cuban Missile Crisis, the Vietnam War and more.
Images of original manuscripts related to Empire Studies sourced from libraries and archives around the world.
Covers 1492-1962. Original manuscripts and printed material related to imperialism. Topics include: Cultural Contacts; Empire Writing; the Invisible Empire; Religion and Empire; Race, Class & Colonialism. Covers Africa, the Americas, Australasia, Oceania & South Asia.
Document collection on women, family and home life in the United States.
Thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
Includes periodicals, monographs, and pamphlets from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University & the New York Public Library. Monographs cover all aspects of family life, and diverse topics from politics to farming. Strong coverage of prescriptive and advice literature, and manuals for domestic management.
Primary source material for the study of the First World War, from personal narratives and printed books to military files, propaganda pamphlets, and visual documents.
The material is complemented by a range of contextual secondary material, including scholarly essays, case studies, and interactive maps. Contains four modules: Personal Experiences, Propaganda & Recruitment, Visual Perspectives & Narratives, and A Global Conflict.
Digitized materials include: Diaries and journals Letters Personal narratives and reminiscences Trench literature and soldiers journals Postcards Scrapbooks and albums Photographs and 360 views of personal items and objects Sketches and paintings Ephemera Sheet music Photographs Film War art Cartoons and comics Propaganda and recruiting posters Extracts from local newspapers Minute books Papers of the Ministry of Information Papers of the Kriegspresseamt Tribunal case files Instructions for the distribution of propaganda Leaflets and Pamphlets Trench maps
CIA translations of newswire & news broadcast services, 1941-1996; the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence.
Combines primary source databases with British, American, and some international content. Allows analysis of content using frequency and term-relationship tools.
Includes these collections:
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society
Archives of Sexuality & Gender
Archives Unbound
Associated Press Collections Online
Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture
British Library Newspapers
China and the Modern World
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
The Economist Historical Archive
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
The Independent Historical Archive
Indigenous Peoples of North America
International Herald Tribune Historical Archive 1887-2013
Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991
The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, 16001970
The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 18001926
The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 16001926
The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 18231978
The Making of the Modern World
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Picture Post Historical Archive
Political Extremism and Radicalism
Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Smithsonian Collections Online
The Sunday Times Historical Archive
The Telegraph Historical Archive
The Times Digital Archive
Times Educational Supplement Historical Archive, 1910-2000
Digitized manuscripts & visual primary source material for the study of global commodities in world history.
Emphasis is on transport, exchange, and consumption of commodities represented. Types of materials include business accounts, mercantile papers, government reports, dock records, and advertisements. Materials are drawn from several libraries, and cover these commodities: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, wheat, and wine and spirits.
A collection of text and video on human rights crimes in the 20th and early 21st centuries.
Includes more than 10,400 pages of archival materials; over 2,300 published monographs totaling more than 37,000 pages; 241 complete videos; more than 3,000 pages of reports, journal articles, and other full-text items; more than 1,000 images (most from The Getty); and nearly 700 links to vetted, important external websites.
Original manuscript material, comprising diaries, letters, maps, sketches, and official and private papers from the National Library of Scotland.
The history of British India is brought to life through the large and diverse South Asian holdings of the National Library of Scotland. The 18th and 19th centuries are especially well represented in manuscript sources which look at:
Social history
Urban history
Trade
Wars
Agriculture
Travel and antiquities
Indian and Imperial politics
There are records of doctors and diplomats, civil servants and army officials, tea planters and natural historians, travelers and traders.
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction. Particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Collaborative project involving more than 50 Michigan libraries. It includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more.
Tracks the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays, & other documents.
Essays, photos, diaries, day surveys, directive replies covering the social and cultural history of Great Britain from 1937 to 1965, including abortion, old age, crime, eating habits, shopping, fashion, dance, popular music, sex, sport, reading, ethnic minorities, and the decline of Empire.
Michigan eLibrary's gateway to different digital projects, including photographs, oral histories, and other materials, from different repositories throughout the state.
Digital primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.
Primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more from around the world, including from national libraries, academic and public libraries, and a variety of special collections, archives, and repositories.
Currently contains four collections:
Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
British Politics and Society
British Theatre, Music and Literature: High and Popular Culture
European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Large compilation of biographical material on indigenous peoples from all regions of North America. Includes biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries and oral histories.
This database represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. North American Indian Thought and Culture contains around 120,000 pages of text and images, including biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched thoroughly. Full-length reference works also are included to give background and context to the narratives.
Books & articles, 18th century - 1920. Includes biographical, autobiographical, & fictionalized narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. (Part of DocSouth)
Contains material that was compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. Covers the administrations of Presidents Herbert Hoover through Bill Clinton.
Covers the administrations of Presidents Herbert Hoover, Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Harry Truman, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Richard M. Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, and Bill Clinton. Created by the University of Michigan Digital Library.
Large-scale plans of urban areas. Maps of over 12,000 US cities and towns.
Sanborn maps, large-scale plans of a city or town, were created to assist fire insurance companies assess the risk associated with insuring a particular property. This collection includes 660,000 maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.
Contains 55,000 video testimonies of survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides.
The Visual History Archive contains 55,000 audiovisual interviews with survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides. Interviewees are primarily Jewish survivors, though the archive also includes interviews with gay/lesbian, Jehovah's Witness, and Roma and Sinta (Gypsy) survivors, survivors of eugenics policies, political prisoners, rescuers and aid providers, liberators, and war crimes trial participants.
Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the following:
1915 Armenian Genocide 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979 Guatemalan Genocide of the early 1980s 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda Ongoing conflict in the Central African Republic Contemporary acts of violence against Jews
The interviews were conducted in 62 different countries and in 41 languages and comprise the most extensive resource of its type. Each interview is fully indexed, thus allowing the viewer to search using either the assigned index terms or a free-text search. Additionally, transcripts are provided for many of the testimonies.
Primary and secondary sources for slavery in the Americas, for teaching and research use.
Designed as a portal for slavery and abolition studies, brings together documents and collections covering the period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective, and the continued existence of slavery today.
Collection devoted to the transatlantic history of slavery; includes books, manuscripts, court records, and serials from US and European archives.
Includes four parts:
Part I) Debates over Slavery & Abolition
Part II) Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
Part III) The Institution of Slavery
Part IV) The Age of Emancipation
Searchable archive of 16th-, 17th- and 18th-century British State Papers, Domestic and Foreign.
Includes these collections: Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 2: State Papers Foreign, Low Countries and Germany
Primary source documents of territories of the United States before statehood, 1764-1953.
Documents assembled by the National Records and Archives Administration (NARA) relating to territories of the United States before they achieved statehood. The official history of the states formative territorial years, recorded in primary source documents, many of which are hand-written, that include official correspondence with Washington, Native American negotiations and treaties, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more.
Sources include: documents of the Departments of State and the Interior; "multi-agency" records of NARA; many documents from David Parkers Calendar of Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the United States (to 1873); and supplemental records from Alaska.
1905-present. Documents on government, politics, foreign relations, domestic affairs from various government agencies, including the White House, CIA, FBI, State Department, others.
Digital archive of texts related to witchcraft dating from the 15th century to the early 20th century.
This archive on witchcraft includes texts dating from the 15th century to the early 20th century. The majority of the material concerns the so-called "classic period" of the 16th to 18th centuries. In addition to these classic texts, the archive includes:
Anti-persecution writings
Works by penologists
Legal and church documents
Exposs of persecutions
Philosophical writings
Transcripts of trials
Exorcisms
The majority of these texts, sourced from the Cornell University library, are in Latin, English and German, although there are also selected items in French, Italian, Portuguese, Danish, Dutch, and Spanish. Covers 1500-1930.
Primary source material from archives in the United States & Europe. The historical collections include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, & more. Covers 1492 - late 20th century.
Profiles of more than 18,000 men and women from all eras and walks of American life who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. Includes thousands of illustrations, linked cross-references, and links to select web sites. 1999 ed., updated quarterly.
Bibliographic data on historical writing about the British Isles and the Commonwealth for all periods from 55 B.C. to present. Content is primarily books and articles published since 1900.
Citations to articles and books relating to all aspects of native North American culture and history.
Citations to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. BNNA covers all aspects of native North American culture, history and life. Content range covers sixteenth century through the present. Earliest indexed publication is from 1890; some coverage throughout 20th century; bulk of the collection was published after 1990.
Helps locate biographical entries contained in 1000+ volumes & editions of important biographical reference sources. Contains citations for 15M+ biographies on nearly 5M people, living and deceased, from all periods, locations, & fields.
Contains more than 600,000 biographies on more than 528,000 people from around the world and throughout history.
Combines more than 135 frequently consulted Gale biographical sources with more than 325 full-text periodicals and journals, more than 27,000 portraits, and thousands of Recent News briefs on high-interest individuals. Updated continuously.
Gateway to databases and text collections focusing on Classical and Medieval European history.
Includes the following databases: Bibliography of British and Irish History International Medieval Bibliography Bibliographie de Civilisation Mdivale International Directory of Medievalists Database of Latin Dictionaries Databases searchable via Cross Database Searchtool: ? Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature ? Aristoteles Latinus Database ? Monumenta Germaniae Historica ? Library of Latin Texts - Series A ? Library of Latin Texts - Series B
Contains over 700 full-text volumes, in 15 subject areas, published from 1960-2014. Volumes consist of historical essays & bibliographies.
Contains over 300 full-text volumes, in 15 subject areas, published from 1960-2014. Volumes provide authoritative historical essays and bibliographies on topics ranging from the First World War to U.S. Foreign Relations. In addition to world history, this collection also covers the histories of subjects including language and linguistics, music, philosophy, political and social theory, religion, theater and performing arts, and warfare. All chapters may be read online or downloaded as PDFs.
Historical statistics (1750-2010) on the economics, populations, labor force, education, and transportation of nations.
Contains downloadable data drawn from and updating the 3 volume print reference work International Historical Statistics 1750-2005. IHS covers a wide range of topics including: the economy, trade, population, labor, education, migration and transportation with data spanning 260 years (1750-2010). The data is organized by regions which are presented as: The Americas, Europe, and Asia + Oceania. Tables can be downloaded as PDF or Excel documents.
Balanced, accurate discussions of over 250 controversial topics in the news along with chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, contact info, and bibliographies, including primary source documents and news editorials.
Covers 1995-present. A Read Aloud button is available for text-to-speech for much of the content.
Large compilation of biographical material on indigenous peoples from all regions of North America. Includes biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries and oral histories.
This database represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. North American Indian Thought and Culture contains around 120,000 pages of text and images, including biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched thoroughly. Full-length reference works also are included to give background and context to the narratives.
Concise articles on noteworthy people from the British Commonwealth who are no longer living.
Concise articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life from the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. No living person is included: the Dictionarys articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2000. Also includes "themes"--essays on groups, clubs, sets, and gangs in British history, linked to articles on their individual members. Please note: access is limited to one user at a time. If your access is blocked, please try again later. When you are done, please logout to free up the access for another user.
Comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the Renaissance in 14th -17th century Europe, and the influence it has on modern thought & society.
Over 400 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press
Fully indexed, cross-searchable database of over 400 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes subject reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and science--both "Quick Reference" titles (concise dictionaries, etc.) and larger "Reference Library" titles (multi-volume encyclopedias, etc.).
Late twentieth century AP office archives from bureaus in Europe and the Middle East.
Content of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive. Includes wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more from the European Bureaus Collection: 1952-2000 and Middle East Bureaus Collection: 1967-2005.
Cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, periodicals, historical newspapers, and more.
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, Black Abolitionist Papers, and much more. At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, consisting of essays that provide an introduction to major topics in Black Studies. Black Studies Center provides the historical full-text of one of the most influential black newspapers in the United States, The Chicago Defender, as well as the Michigan Chronicle (1936-2010).
A collection of text and video on human rights crimes in the 20th and early 21st centuries.
Includes more than 10,400 pages of archival materials; over 2,300 published monographs totaling more than 37,000 pages; 241 complete videos; more than 3,000 pages of reports, journal articles, and other full-text items; more than 1,000 images (most from The Getty); and nearly 700 links to vetted, important external websites.
This audio collection comprises hours of sound files and transcripts of meetings and telephone conversations for Presidents Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon.
Contains 55,000 video testimonies of survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides.
The Visual History Archive contains 55,000 audiovisual interviews with survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides. Interviewees are primarily Jewish survivors, though the archive also includes interviews with gay/lesbian, Jehovah's Witness, and Roma and Sinta (Gypsy) survivors, survivors of eugenics policies, political prisoners, rescuers and aid providers, liberators, and war crimes trial participants.
Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the following:
1915 Armenian Genocide 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979 Guatemalan Genocide of the early 1980s 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda Ongoing conflict in the Central African Republic Contemporary acts of violence against Jews
The interviews were conducted in 62 different countries and in 41 languages and comprise the most extensive resource of its type. Each interview is fully indexed, thus allowing the viewer to search using either the assigned index terms or a free-text search. Additionally, transcripts are provided for many of the testimonies.
Helps locate biographical entries contained in 1000+ volumes & editions of important biographical reference sources. Contains citations for 15M+ biographies on nearly 5M people, living and deceased, from all periods, locations, & fields.
Demographic information about the United States, 1790 to present. Create maps and reports based on decennial censuses of 1940 to 2010 and the American Community Survey.
Includes over 40 billion data elements and 335,000 variables. Includes demographic and economic data, religion, election, and carbon emissions data. To save and share projects, please create a personal account.
University of Michigan-Flint