LibGuides: Psychology: A Guide to Library Research: Find Background Information

Reference E-Books

A selection of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc) available electronically. More available by searching the library catalog, or asking a librarian!

A Dictionary of Psychology
This dictionary covers all branches of psychology including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. Includes illustrations and lists of commonly used abbreviations and symbols, as well as of phobias and phobic stimuli, with definitions

APA Handbooks of Psychology This link opens in a new window
Several handbooks from the American Psychological Association. Browse by topic or search for a particular title

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology, 4th ed
Coverage of every major area of psychology, including behavioral sciences and complete coverage of DSM disorders
more info...less info...
Extensive Coverage Includes:

-Biological psychology and neuroscience.
-DSM diagnoses and psychopathological conditions.
-Psychological and psychopharmacological treatment methods.
-Psychological tests, scales, and assessment methods.
-Developmental processes.
-Research methods and statistical procedures.
-Psychological societies and organizations.
-Psychology from around the world.
-Biographical entries on over 600 influential psychologists.

SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of over 150 scholarly encyclopedias, handbooks, and reference books in the social sciences.
Covers anthropology, communication, education, geography, health, history, law, management, politics, psychology, and sociology.

Streaming Video

Psychology & Counseling (Alexander Street text & video) This link opens in a new window
Video and transcripts covering psychological experiments, and the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and counseling.
Includes these collections:

Counseling and Therapy in Video. Counseling Sessions and Demonstrations; Consultations; Lectures, presentations, and interviews; Teaching and Discussion Guides. Transcripts are included.

Psychological Experiments Online. Experiments in psychology with thousands of pages of primary-source documents, including notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, and final reports on topics from obedience to authority and from conformity to operant conditioning.

Guest hours:
Mon-Fri, 12pm-5pm

Psychology: A Guide to Library Research

Have a Question? Need Some Help?

Reference E-Books

Streaming Video