LibGuides: Psychology: A Guide to Library Research: Overview

Welcome!

This guide will direct you to the most relevant library resources for doing research in Psychology. Most books on Psychology will be found in the BF section, on the 2nd floor of Thompson Library.

Frequently Used Psychology Databases

PsycInfo & PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
1887-present. Includes journals, books, book chapters, and dissertations in psychology.
Short video tutorials on using PsycInfo
Includes the collections APA PsycInfo and APA PsycArticles.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Articles covering the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops over time.
DSM-5 on PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (DSM-5).
Also includes access to the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and DSM-5 Clinical Cases.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 21 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.

Proximity searching is available, which allows you to find terms within specified distances from each other.

Includes journal literature, 1950-present; selected online books. This version uses Outside Tool to link to resources at UM-Flint.
Video tutorials:
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Books, journals, reference books, videos, podcasts, data-sets, and case studies on social science research methods.
Sage Research Methods includes over 2,000 books, reference books, journal articles, videos, datasets, and case studies on all aspects of social science research methodology. Browse the methods map or the list of methods to identify a social science method to pursue further. Includes a project planning tool and the "Which Stats Test" tool to identify the best statistical method for your project. Includes the notable "little green book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences) and the "little blue book" series (Qualitative Research Methods).
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments, as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
NOTE: PsycTests is now on the APA PsycNet platform.
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. More information:
- Focuses primarily on unpublished tests, those developed by researchers but not made commercially available
- Most records link to a variety of materials describing the test in peer-reviewed literature, technical reports, or dissertations as well as links to related peer-reviewed literature describing test development, review, or use
- All records include a summary that describes the test, with its purpose and some history of its development
- Most records include the actual test instrument
- Covers 1910 to present. 51% of entries are from 2000 and later; 73% are from 1990 and later.
- This database can also be searched together with PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO.
- More info from the APA

See all Psychology databases