Statistics and their interpretation are essential to the physical, life, health, and social sciences. This guide provides links to numerous reliable sources of statistical information, with contact information for a librarian for each subject area.
Population, housing and economic census data from ongoing surveys including American Community Survey.
American FactFinder is an online source for accessing population, housing, economic and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Data available include: Decennial Census of Housing and Population - 2000 and 2010 Results from each of these data programs are provided in the form of data sets, tables, thematic maps, and reference maps.
Bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. Covers all articles from 106 core journals, selected articles from about 900 additional journals, and about 8000 books in statistics published since 1974.
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from foreign, US, and state governments, and businesses.
1974-present. Includes statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations. Create maps and reports on health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing. Data is available for the world as a whole or for selected countries. Data for the U.S. are shown by state, often by county, sometimes by census tract and zip code. Time series data may go back several decades. Requires Java. Firefox and Internet Explorer recommended. Does not work with Safari.
Collection of datasets developed to help learn research methods.
A collection of teaching datasets that can be used to support the teaching and learning of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods used in the social sciences. These are datasets taken from real research projects, but edited and cleaned for teaching purposes. Each dataset will be accompanied by a short clear narrative description of the data and easy-to-follow instructions on how to apply the research method.