Global population database that shows geographical distribution of population at one-kilometer resolution over an average 24 hour period.
The LandScan algorithm uses spatial data and imagery analysis technologies and the most up-to-date census data within an administrative boundary. Accurate administrative boundaries are an integral part of the LandScan population distribution modeling process. These population distribution models are tailored to match the data conditions and geographical nature of each individual country and region.
Most national censuses count populations by measuring where people sleep (or reside) rather than where they work or travel. LandScan integrates daytime movements and collective travel habits into a single measure to produce a better representation of where people are located during an average day. GIS users can access these data directly:
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from foreign, US, and state governments, and businesses.
1974-present. Includes statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations. Create maps and reports on health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing. Data is available for the world as a whole or for selected countries. Data for the U.S. are shown by state, often by county, sometimes by census tract and zip code. Time series data may go back several decades. Requires Java. Firefox and Internet Explorer recommended. Does not work with Safari.
Create tables, charts and maps with wide range of variables using data from governments and private organizations.
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations. Create maps and reports from data you select from over 640 datasets. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing. Data is available for the world as a whole or for selected countries. Data for the U.S. are shown by state, often by county, sometimes by census tract and zip code. Time series data may go back several decades.Data sources include the U.S. government, the World Bank, Dow Jones, Dun & Bradstreet, Mergent, and Standard & Poors.
Large-scale plans of urban areas. Maps of over 12,000 US cities and towns.
Sanborn maps, large-scale plans of a city or town, were created to assist fire insurance companies assess the risk associated with insuring a particular property. This collection includes 660,000 maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.
Web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data.
Sources include: U.S. government sources such as the census, Department of Labor statistics, FBI, and National Climatic Data Center; Mediamark Research Inc (MRI) Consumer Survey, EASI Analytic Life Stages, EASI Health Care, Nielsen PRIZM Consumer Buying Power, Nielsen Retail Market Power; and Nielsen Financial CLOUT datasets.
Data can be downloaded for use with other software such as Excel and GIS.
SimplyMap requires users to log in to save their work and use it again later. Users who do not wish to create a personal account may log in as a guest
Demographic information about the United States, 1790 to present. Create maps and reports based on decennial censuses of 1940 to 2010 and the American Community Survey.
Includes over 40 billion data elements and 335,000 variables. Includes demographic and economic data, religion, election, and carbon emissions data. To save and share projects, please create a personal account.