LibGuides: Women's and Gender Studies: A Guide to Library Research: Overview

Welcome!

Welcome to the Thompson Library LibGuide (Library Guide) for Women's and Gender Studies!

This guide will get you started on your research paper and/or project and direct you to a variety of resources in Thompson Library. It contains:

Reference books that may be useful starting points for research
Article Databases that are of particular use for your topic
Search tips for the library catalog and article databases

Remember that if you get stuck and need help, the librarians are here to help you.

Frequently Used Databases

Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
This is a great database for research in gender studies, sexual behavior surveys, family & marital issues, conversion therapy, gay & lesbian rights, health aspects, and other issues.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Use this database for research on sexual diversity issues, and the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside & outside academia.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
This is a great database for the popular and scholarly literature addressing issues related to the Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender community.
1997-present (varies by title). Indexes 600 popular & scholarly publications (including journals, newspapers, magazines, and books) addressing the social, legal, economic, political, cultural, historical, literary, & health concerns of the Gay-Lesbian-Bisexual-Transgender community. Includes Sexual Diversity Studies. Excludes fiction & erotica. Includes full text of more than 130 journals and more than 170 books.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
This database is great for research on women in sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business, and education.
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Its sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Women's Studies International includes the following database files: Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, Women's Studies Database, Women Studies Librarian, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.