Women's and Gender Studies: A Guide to Library Research

Archive of materials compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime (1898-1959).

Searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books of instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. When complete, the collection will contain 150,000 pages that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.

Includes the following collections, which can also be searched separately:

• Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878  
• Women's Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844  
• Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865  
• Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891  

Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Its sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Women's Studies International includes the following database files: Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, Women's Studies Database, Women Studies Librarian, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.

Includes these collections:

• Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
• Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present
• Women and Social Movements: Development and the Global South, 1919 - 2019
• Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820

Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets, and NGO, government, & special reports.

1997-present (varies by title). Indexes 600 popular & scholarly publications (including journals, newspapers, magazines, and books) addressing the social, legal, economic, political, cultural, historical, literary, & health concerns of the Gay-Lesbian-Bisexual-Transgender community. Includes Sexual Diversity Studies. Excludes fiction & erotica. Includes full text of more than 130 journals and more than 170 books.

Searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books of instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. When complete, the collection will contain 150,000 pages that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.

Black Thought and Culture (1700 to present) consists of African-American authors of works of non-fiction, including books, interviews, journal articles, letters, & other formats, covering all aspects of the black experience.

Black Studies in Video has documentaries, newsreels, interviews, and archival footage covering history, politics, sociology, art, and culture.

Resources that illuminate the challenges, triumphs, and issues facing underrepresented, indigenous, and immigrant communities around the world. Hundreds of documentaries, interviews, biographies, performances, and lectures create a rich platform for examining social, racial, and economic inequalities that shape communities at the local and global levels. Content offers opportunities for cross-cultural comparisons and localized, in-depth analyses relevant to Asian studies, black studies, LGBT studies, North American Indian studies, and women's studies.

Includes these collections:

• Asian Film Online
   
• Black Studies in Video
   
• Black Thought and Culture
   
• LGBT Studies in Video
   

Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies. Covers 1975-present.

Searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books of instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. When complete, the collection will contain 150,000 pages that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.

Tips for using this collection are available in the Adam Matthew Digital Help Centre.

Includes these collections:
 

• African American Communities
   
• Age of Exploration
   
• America in World War Two
   
• American History
   
• American Indian Histories and Cultures
   
• American West
   
• Apartheid South Africa, 1948 - 1980
   
• Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922
   
• Children's Literature and Culture
   
• China, America and the Pacific
   
• China: Culture and Society
   
• China: Trade, Politics and Culture
   
• Church Missionary Society
   
• Colonial America
   
• Confidential Print: Africa
   
• Confidential Print: Latin America
   
• Confidential Print: North America
   
• Defining Gender
   
• Early Modern England
   
• East India Company
   
• Eighteenth Century Drama
   
• Eighteenth Century Journals
   
• Empire Online
   
• Everyday Life and Women in America
   
• First World War
   
• Food and Drink
   
• Foreign Office Files for China
   
• Foreign Office Files for India
   
• Foreign Office Files for Japan
   
• Foreign Office Files for South East Asia
   
• Foreign Office Files for the Middle East
   
• Frontier Life
   
• Gender Identity and Social Change
   
• Gilded Age
   
• Global Commodities
   
• India, Raj and Empire
   
• J Walter Thompson: Advertising America
   
• Jewish Life in America c.1654-1954
   
• Leisure, Travel & Mass Culture
   
• Life at Sea
   
• Literary Manuscripts Berg
   
• Literary Manuscripts Leeds
   
• Literary Print Culture
   
• London Low Life
   
• Macmillan Cabinet Papers
   
• Market Research and American Business
   
• Mass Observation Online
   
• Medical Services and Warfare
   
• Medieval Family Life
   
• Medieval Travel
   
• Meiji Japan
   
• Migration to New Worlds
   
• Nineteenth Century Literary Society: The John Murray Publishing Archive
   
• Perdita Manuscripts
   
• Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
   
• Race Relations in America
   
• Research Source - AS:China and Southeast Asia
   
• Research Source - AS:India
   
• Research Source - AS:Japan
   
• Research Source - Business, Economic and Labour History
   
• Research Source - CMS
   
• Research Source - Empire
   
• Research Source - Literary Studies
   
• Research Source - Medieval and Early Modern Studies
   
• Research Source - Missionary Studies
   
• Research Source - Women's Studies
   
• Research Source - World War Two Studies
   
• Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
   
• Service Newspapers of World War 2
   
• Shakespeare In Performance
   
• Shakespeare's Globe Archive
   
• Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
   
• Socialism on Film: The Cold War
   
• The Grand Tour
   
• The Nixon Years
   
• Trade Catalogues and the American Home
   
• Travel Writing
   
• Victorian Popular Culture
   
• Victorians on Film
   
• Virginia Company Archives
   
• Women in the National Archives
   
• Worlds Fairs

Covers the major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections. Topical segments visit events like the Met's Costume Exhibits, CFDA Awards, and feature interviews with top designers, models, and celebrities of the fashion world.

Includes these collections:

• Women's Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844  
• Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865  
• Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891  

Includes the following collections, which can also be searched separately:

• Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878  
• Women's Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844  
• Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865  
• Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891