LibGuides: Marketing: A Guide to Library Research: Company Information

Databases - Company Data

ACSI: American Customer Satisfaction Index This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Information on nearly 24 million companies, including large and mid-sized companies in the US, Canada, and worldwide
Information on nearly twenty-four million companies, including large and mid-sized companies in the United States and Canada, and hundreds of thousands of companies world-wide. Includes contacts and emails, analysis of company operations, actions and changes, plus additional data points such as technologies (software, etc.) used at a company. D&B Hoovers aggregates and enhances content from over 30 diverse content providers representing 2,000 separate information sources including Reuters, CorpTech, Investext, RMA Industry Ratios, and StatUSA.
Factiva (Dow Jones Factiva) This link opens in a new window
Offers company and industry financial data and news stories, as well as full text articles in 6,000 trade publications, newspapers, newswires and magazines.
Technical notes: Please log out of this resource as directed when finished. Failing to log out may prevent others from using the database. Downloads are limited to 100 documents per PDF.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Factiva." Traders may not use this database.

Guide to using Dow Jones Factiva
FRASER This link opens in a new window
Historical statistical information from United States government sources.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Information on companies globally, including SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies, and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets, and more.

Google Finance
Modified "free" version of purchased databases, Google pulls its financial data from open sources (such as SEC filings). Simple to use, we offer it as an alternative to our purchased databases which are available exclusively to UM-Flint currently registered students and employees. The subscription-based databases will contain quality, well-researched data drawn from more extensive sources than Google and are recommended over this source.

IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
Industry research across an extensive range of industries. Note: Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session.
IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, products & markets, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, cost structure, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends. iExpert reports are brief executive summaries of broader reports. Risk Ratings reports highlight structural risk, growth risk, and sensitivity risk.

Technical notes: Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session. Exceeding this limit blocks access for the entire University. If you have a research need beyond this limit, please contact the Kresge Library in Ann Arbor at kresge_library@umich.edu.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Includes information from Hoover's and Dun & Bradstreet.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, and insider trading for US and foreign companies. YouTube tutorial available
Provides access to current and historical financial information on 15,000 US and 20,000 foreign companies, both active and inactive, including firm description, statistics, and financial information, as well as annual reports. Mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock and insider trading are also provided in the company records. Historical data is available for the past 15 years. Company reports and financials can be exported to Excel.

Includes Mergent Horizon data about a firm's products; its relationships with its major customers, suppliers, and partners; its competitors; its financials; and the industry space in which it operates.
Orbis This link opens in a new window
Information on 40 million companies worldwide.
Users are required to enter "University of Michigan" in the "Enter your organization's name" box to authenticate and use the database. No guest access.
Orbis has information about 40 million companies, including 18 million European companies from 46 countries, 16 million US and Canadian companies, 6.5 million South and Central American companies, 1.3 million Japanese companies, 300,000 Chinese companies, and 90,000 African companies. Orbis includes information about 30,000 banks and 8,000 insurance companies.
Users are required to enter "University of Michigan" in the "Enter your organization's name" box to authenticate and use the database.Technical Notes: Use of scripts or automated methods to download data from Orbis is strictly prohibited. If you require access to a larger dataset, please contact kresge_library@umich.edu.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Orbis." This database is for personal use only, meaning that you should never share your log-in credentials for this resource.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Extensive industry, demographic, consumer, and economic data for numerous countries worldwide.
Includes forecast data, market data for 330 consumer products in 49 countries, data on 100,000 brands, and full text market analysis reports.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Business and financial research for over 700,000 non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies.

Competitive Analyis Process

Competitive analysis takes into consideration factors such as the market size and the market share, financial position, and reputation of key competitors. When you cannot find a pre-packaged report, you will need to compile relevant data on current and potential customers as well as competitors. Consider using other resources as well, such as databases that provide SWOT reports (see tab). The resources listed here can be used to find company profiles including information on key competitors, their major brands and products:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1886-present. Case studies, company profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, financial data, industry reports, investment research reports, market research reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, trade journals. All aspects of business.
Due to license restrictions, access to the 500 most popular articles from Harvard Business Review is read-only--no printing, downloading, or direct linking to these 500 articles is permitted. All other HBR articles are fully accessible to all current U-M students, faculty, and staff with no such restrictions.

Use Policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of EBSCO Business Source Complete."
Factiva (Dow Jones Factiva) This link opens in a new window
Offers company and industry financial data and news stories, as well as full text articles in 6,000 trade publications, newspapers, newswires and magazines.
Technical notes: Please log out of this resource as directed when finished. Failing to log out may prevent others from using the database. Downloads are limited to 100 documents per PDF.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Factiva." Traders may not use this database.

Guide to using Dow Jones Factiva
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of historical Moody's, Hoover's, Dun & Bradstreet, and Mergent publications. Mergent WebReports merged into this database.
Digital collection of historical Moody's, Hoover's, Dun & Bradstreet, and Mergent publications. Coverage dates range from 1909-present, depending on the source. The collection includes:
- Moody's/Mergent Corporate Manuals
- Dun & Bradstreet's Key Business Ratios
- Million Dollar Directory
- Hoover's Handbooks
- Historical International Company Annual Reports
Most publications are only available as a PDF download. These files can be quite large.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Includes information from Hoover's and Dun & Bradstreet.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, and insider trading for US and foreign companies. YouTube tutorial available
Provides access to current and historical financial information on 15,000 US and 20,000 foreign companies, both active and inactive, including firm description, statistics, and financial information, as well as annual reports. Mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock and insider trading are also provided in the company records. Historical data is available for the past 15 years. Company reports and financials can be exported to Excel.

Includes Mergent Horizon data about a firm's products; its relationships with its major customers, suppliers, and partners; its competitors; its financials; and the industry space in which it operates.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information worldwide.
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Information on nearly 24 million companies, including large and mid-sized companies in the US, Canada, and worldwide
Information on nearly twenty-four million companies, including large and mid-sized companies in the United States and Canada, and hundreds of thousands of companies world-wide. Includes contacts and emails, analysis of company operations, actions and changes, plus additional data points such as technologies (software, etc.) used at a company. D&B Hoovers aggregates and enhances content from over 30 diverse content providers representing 2,000 separate information sources including Reuters, CorpTech, Investext, RMA Industry Ratios, and StatUSA.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from foreign, US, and state governments, and businesses.
Indexes and abstracts federal statistical publications since 1974, business and state government publications since 1980, and international agency publications since 1983. Provides links to full text of 15% of federal publications. . Firefox recommended. Does not work with Safari.

Historical Company Resources

Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of historical Moody's, Hoover's, Dun & Bradstreet, and Mergent publications. Mergent WebReports merged into this database.
Digital collection of historical Moody's, Hoover's, Dun & Bradstreet, and Mergent publications. Coverage dates range from 1909-present, depending on the source. The collection includes:
- Moody's/Mergent Corporate Manuals
- Dun & Bradstreet's Key Business Ratios
- Million Dollar Directory
- Hoover's Handbooks
- Historical International Company Annual Reports
Most publications are only available as a PDF download. These files can be quite large.
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
Full text versions of annual reports for over 800 corporations, 1844-2008.
Searchable by financial data, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, related companies, and more.

SWOT Analysis

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1886-present. Case studies, company profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, financial data, industry reports, investment research reports, market research reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, trade journals. All aspects of business.
Due to license restrictions, access to the 500 most popular articles from Harvard Business Review is read-only--no printing, downloading, or direct linking to these 500 articles is permitted. All other HBR articles are fully accessible to all current U-M students, faculty, and staff with no such restrictions.

Use Policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of EBSCO Business Source Complete."

Journal Articles

Business & Management Collections on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of business-related news, scholarly articles, case studies, company profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, financial data, reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, and trade journals.
Includes these collections:
- Bloomberg Businessweek Archive
- Business Abstracts with Full Text
- Business Book Summaries
- Business Source Complete
- Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1774-1901
- eBook Business Collection
- Entrepreneurial Studies Source
- Human Resources Abstracts
- Regional Business News
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1886-present. Case studies, company profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, financial data, industry reports, investment research reports, market research reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, trade journals. All aspects of business.
Due to license restrictions, access to the 500 most popular articles from Harvard Business Review is read-only--no printing, downloading, or direct linking to these 500 articles is permitted. All other HBR articles are fully accessible to all current U-M students, faculty, and staff with no such restrictions.

Use Policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of EBSCO Business Source Complete."

e-Commerce Times
ECT News Network is one of the largest e-business and technology news publishers in the United States. Our network of business and technology news publications attracts a targeted audience of buyers and decision-makers who need timely industry news and reliable analysis.

Factiva (Dow Jones Factiva) This link opens in a new window
Offers company and industry financial data and news stories, as well as full text articles in 6,000 trade publications, newspapers, newswires and magazines.
Technical notes: Please log out of this resource as directed when finished. Failing to log out may prevent others from using the database. Downloads are limited to 100 documents per PDF.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Factiva." Traders may not use this database.

Guide to using Dow Jones Factiva
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Information on companies globally, including SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies, and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets, and more.
Gale OneFile: Business Collections This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
Includes these collections:
- Gale OneFile: Business
- Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship
- Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism
- Gale OneFile: Insurance and Liability
- Gale OneFile: Leadership and Management
ProQuest Business This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases relating to business.
Includes the following databases. which may also be searched individually:
- ABI/INFORM Collection
  - ABI/INFORM Dateline
  - ABI/INFORM Global
  - ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
- Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive (1952-1995)
- The Far Eastern Economic Review Archive‎ (1946-2009)
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business
- ProQuest Historical Annual Reports (1844-present)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1889-2011)
- ProQuest Research Library: Business
- Women's Wear Daily Archive