LibGuides: Marketing: A Guide to Library Research: Industry Information

NAICS Classification System Explained

Industrial Classification Systems Explanation

NAICS - North American Industrial Classification System

Databases

ACSI: American Customer Satisfaction Index This link opens in a new window
National cross-industry measure of customer satisfaction in the United States. Measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with products and services offered by firms with significant share in U.S. markets.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Market research reports and market forecasting in advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies. Includes the podcast "You Should Know This."
Business & Management Collections on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of business-related news, scholarly articles, case studies, company profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, financial data, reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, and trade journals.
Includes these collections:
- Bloomberg Businessweek Archive
- Business Abstracts with Full Text
- Business Book Summaries
- Business Source Complete
- Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1774-1901
- eBook Business Collection
- Entrepreneurial Studies Source
- Human Resources Abstracts
- Regional Business News
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1886-present. Case studies, company profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, financial data, industry reports, investment research reports, market research reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, trade journals. All aspects of business.
Due to license restrictions, access to the 500 most popular articles from Harvard Business Review is read-only--no printing, downloading, or direct linking to these 500 articles is permitted. All other HBR articles are fully accessible to all current U-M students, faculty, and staff with no such restrictions.

Use Policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of EBSCO Business Source Complete."
eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Market research information about the Internet, e-business, online marketing, and emerging technologies. Please log out when finished; failing to log out may prevent others from using this database.
Aggregated from over 1,700 sources. Includes analyst reports, daily research articles, and e-business and online.
Help guide (pdf)
Video tutorial
EMIS Emerging Markets This link opens in a new window
Provides full text news, reports, and financial information for emerging markets in Asia, Europe, and Latin America. Includes merger and acquisitions deals, data, and analytic tools for company and industry comparisons. Users can create a login to save personal settings.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Information on companies globally, including SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies, and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets, and more.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
"Country Culture" database containing 126 information modules of structured content for 175 countries.
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
Industry research across an extensive range of industries. Note: Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session.
IBISWorld is a database that has industry research across an extensive range of industries. Reports include main industry activities, key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, key external drivers, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, products & markets, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, cost structure, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends. iExpert reports are brief executive summaries of broader reports. Risk Ratings reports highlight structural risk, growth risk, and sensitivity risk.

Technical notes: Downloads are limited to 30 reports per session. Exceeding this limit blocks access for the entire University. If you have a research need beyond this limit, please contact the Kresge Library in Ann Arbor at kresge_library@umich.edu.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of historical Moody's, Hoover's, Dun & Bradstreet, and Mergent publications. Mergent WebReports merged into this database.
Digital collection of historical Moody's, Hoover's, Dun & Bradstreet, and Mergent publications. Coverage dates range from 1909-present, depending on the source. The collection includes:
- Moody's/Mergent Corporate Manuals
- Dun & Bradstreet's Key Business Ratios
- Million Dollar Directory
- Hoover's Handbooks
- Historical International Company Annual Reports
Most publications are only available as a PDF download. These files can be quite large.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Includes information from Hoover's and Dun & Bradstreet.
MRI Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
Retrieve and graph data on the demographic, psychographic, and media use characteristics of users of products, brands, and services.

Our subscription to this product expires on June 20, 2025.

Industry & Analysis (U.S. International Trade Administration)
Trade analysis to create and implement innovative trade and investment strategies for U.S. businesses.
more info...less info...
-Evaluates the potential effects of U.S government regulations and domestic policies on industries.

-Maximizes U.S. gains in trade negotiations and support the enforcement of U.S. trade laws.

-Provides trade and industry data to underpin the development of national economic policies

Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Extensive industry, demographic, consumer, and economic data for numerous countries worldwide.
Includes forecast data, market data for 330 consumer products in 49 countries, data on 100,000 brands, and full text market analysis reports.
ProQuest Business This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases relating to business.
Includes the following databases. which may also be searched individually:
- ABI/INFORM Collection
  - ABI/INFORM Dateline
  - ABI/INFORM Global
  - ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
- Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive (1952-1995)
- The Far Eastern Economic Review Archive‎ (1946-2009)
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business
- ProQuest Historical Annual Reports (1844-present)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1889-2011)
- ProQuest Research Library: Business
- Women's Wear Daily Archive
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from foreign, US, and state governments, and businesses.
Indexes and abstracts federal statistical publications since 1974, business and state government publications since 1980, and international agency publications since 1983. Provides links to full text of 15% of federal publications. . Firefox recommended. Does not work with Safari.
USA Trade Online This link opens in a new window
Trade information from the U.S. government. Export and import data for over 18,000 commodities.
Provides trade information produced by the U.S. government. Current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities. Export and import data is also available by port.
VitalLaw This link opens in a new window
News, analysis, and legislation on federal, state, and international tax topics.
Formerly branded as Cheetah, VitalLaw includes the U.S. Master GAAP Guide with technical explanations of generally accepted accounting principles as documented in the Financial Accounting Standards Boards (FASB) Accounting Standards Codification (ASC).
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
Provides economic, social, and environmental indicators for 210 economies. From the World Bank.
The World Development Indicators (WDI) provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960. Specific series and countries/groups can be selected for specific year ranges, and data can be exported.

Industry Statistics

MRI Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
Retrieve and graph data on the demographic, psychographic, and media use characteristics of users of products, brands, and services.

Our subscription to this product expires on June 20, 2025.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Extensive industry, demographic, consumer, and economic data for numerous countries worldwide.
Includes forecast data, market data for 330 consumer products in 49 countries, data on 100,000 brands, and full text market analysis reports.
Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistics on the population, economy, and life in the United States.
The US Census Bureau published the Statistical Abstract of the United States from 1878-2012. The company ProQuest picked up the series beginning in 2013.
ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
Online collection of statistical compendia from around the world.
These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. The first release includes data from 29 countries; more will be added later. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations and research firms will also be included.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Portal for current statistics from private and government sources on wide range of topics.
Ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls. About 20 percent of the data in Statista comes from government sources like the World Bank and the U.S. Census. The rest comes from industry, marketing, and trade groups. The tables, charts and graphs can be downloaded as images or into Microsoft Powerpoint and Excel.
USA Trade Online This link opens in a new window
Trade information from the U.S. government. Export and import data for over 18,000 commodities.
Provides trade information produced by the U.S. government. Current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities. Export and import data is also available by port.

US Bureau of Labor Statistics -- Stats by Industry
Industry data on this site identified using NAICS classification.
Over 100 industry pages are available. These pages display a "snapshot" of national data obtained from different BLS surveys and programs. The data shown are based on the NAICS supersector, sector, and industry level.
Also includes data on:
- Employment, Hours & Earnings
- Occupations
- Safety & Health
- Producer Price Index (PPI)
- Employment Cost Trends
- Labor Productivity & Costs

Consumer Analysis

The objective of consumer analysis is to identify segments or groups within a population that have similar needs. Consumer analysis can help answer questions such as:

Who buys the product or service?
Where do these consumers live?
What income levels are in the market?
What is the age pattern in the market?

Answers to these questions help identify target markets for specific products or services and advertising efforts.

Develop a consumer:

Demographic Segmentation: includes age, gender, income, race, marital status, education, occupation, home ownership, number in the household and age of the home.
Psychographic Segmentation: looks at the values, activities, interests, and opinions of the population, what we often call lifestyle.
Behavioral Segmentation: Divides the market by observable behaviors such as usage, purchasing decisions, and brand loyalty.

Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Use the Consumer / Lifestyle database for market research, and to understand the buying habits of groups of consumers. Consumers are rated on purchase preferences across nineteen categories and several dozen sub-categories. Ratings are based of on frequency rates (how often purchases in a category are made) and volume (how much is spent in a given category). Data is compiled from multiple opt-in resources, and results are a blend of purchase preference information with household and census type data.
MRI Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
Retrieve and graph data on the demographic, psychographic, and media use characteristics of users of products, brands, and services.

Our subscription to this product expires on June 20, 2025.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data. Data can be downloaded for use with other software such as Excel and GIS. Demographic, income, and expenditure data can be searched by state, county, zip code, and census tract. Available reports include summaries, comparisons, rankings, and maps.
Sources include: U.S. government sources such as the census, Department of Labor statistics, FBI, and National Climatic Data Center; Mediamark Research Inc (MRI) Consumer Survey, EASI Analytic Life Stages, EASI Health Care, Nielsen PRIZM Consumer Buying Power, Nielsen Retail Market Power; and Nielsen Financial CLOUT datasets.

Data can be downloaded for use with other software such as Excel and GIS.

Users need to create their own account with @umich.edu email address in order to be able to save work. If you do not wish to create a personal account, you may log in as a guest.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics on consumer behavior and attitudes from a variety of government and commercial sources.
Ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls. About 20 percent of the data in Statista comes from government sources like the World Bank and the U.S. Census. The rest comes from industry, marketing, and trade groups. The tables, charts and graphs can be downloaded as images or into Microsoft Powerpoint and Excel.
SAGE Stats This link opens in a new window
Data series or single data measures over time about U.S. geographies across 17 high-interest research areas, as far back as 1980.
Sage Stats is a collection of data measures that span all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Local Stats is a collection of data measures that span all counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas. Dating back more than 20 years, each data series is displayed in a clear and consistent format with detailed source information. Topics covered include the economy, education, crime, government finance, health, population, religion, social welfare, and transportation.