Interlibrary Loan (ILL) borrows books for you from other libraries outside of UM.
ARTICLES: Use ILL to get articles not available in Flint. Articles arrive within 1 to 3 days as full text online documents.
BOOKS: Login to the ILLIAD system and fill out the citation form for LOAN-BOOK. You will get an email when the item has arrived at Thompson Library so you can come pick it up. Items from other insitutions usually arrive by mail within 3 to 5 weeks from request date.
This is a different service from GET THIS, which is used to get materials from UM Libraries for pickup in Flint. ( Use the MIRLYN online to request books from Ann Arbor libraries using Get This.)
What is Peer Review?
Peer review is an editing process in which a scholar's work is reviewed by experts in a field before being accepted for publication (in the case of journals). Many people give more credence to journal articles that have gone through a peer review process because they have been reviewed by experts in the field (rather than just an editor, as is the case of a newspaper or magazine) before being accepted for publication.
Journal Finder Subscription Location Tool
Have a citation? Not sure where to find the journal?
Use JOURNAL FINDER for a list of available journals with links to journal (not articles within a journal)
Different databases may carry a journal as full text or index only. Check each listing to verify.
Possible locoations given for full text include:
- Alternate list of databases with article online (Journal Finder provides links)
- Print (on shelf in the library)
- Microfilm/fiche (in cabinets in library)
NOTE: This is NOT an article finder. It only verifies access to specific journal titles and re-directs you to that journal
START JOURNAL ARTICLE SEARCH HERE!
Looking for journal articles? START HERE!
In the box below are the best databases to begin looking for journal articles in psychology.
(Databases are online indexes to help you find articles by topic, by author or by journal name)
SEE ALSO: A - Z List of Databases (journal articles) Tab at top toolbar.
A comprehensive list of all subscription databases indexing articles in Psychology.
DATABASES TO BEGIN JOURNAL RESEARCH
SHORTLIST OF DATABASES RECOMMENDED TO BEGIN RESEARCH PROJECT:
What is a Journal Article?
Not sure what a "journal" is?
- A journal is simliar to a magazine.
- A journal, unlike a magazine, is dedicated to academic topics.
- Journal of American History
- New England Journal of Medicine
- A journal consists of many issues (sometimes weekly, monthly or quarterly).
- A journal issue contains several articles which are NOT necessarily on the same topic.
- A journal lists each year since it was first published as a volume. (One volume equals 1 year)
- A journal issue consists of articles written by experts within the discipline.
- A journal is intended to be read by someone researching in that discipline.
- A journal article contains language (words/jargon) specific to that discipline.
- A journal article refers the reader to research sources and statistics used to write the article.
- A journal article contains a bibliography (references cited) page at the end.
See Help with your Paper tab for more info about journals v magazines.