The Thompson Library & Archives Blog

New Resources at the Thompson Library

Thanks to our ties to Ann Arbor, we now have access to some specialized databases in international trade, tax law, and technical standards.

• ASTM Compass: Engineering faculty and students might find ASTM Compass useful, especially since our subscription to BSOL expires in May. This database is even better, and offers current ASTM Standards, ASTM Special Technical Publications (STPs), as well as some technical journals. ASTM Compass also provides searching and full-text access to current ISO, IEC, AASHTO, AWS, and AWWA standards.
  • Where to find: Engineering: A Guide to Library Research > Engineering Standards
• Checkpoint Edge: Federal, state, and some international tax materials can be found here. Checkpoint Edge (formerly RIA Checkpoint) contains full-text laws and regulations as well as a number of important secondary tax research sources.
  • Where to find: Accounting: A Guide to Library Research > Accounting Standards

The databases below deal heavily with trade law, especially at the international level.

• ISLG: Investor-State Lawguide: International arbitration rules from various organizations, instruments, and courts can be found here. ISLG provides international arbitration rules from ICSID, UNCITRAL, and Stockholm, international treaties and rules, bilateral investment treaties, free trade agreements, arbitration awards from ICSID and UNCITRAL, as well as certain domestic courts decisions on international rules and treaties along with sophisticated search features to allow users to do cross-search among all the substantive materials mentioned above.
  • Where to find: International Business: A Guide to Library Research > International Trade Law
• Kluwer Arbitration: Try this for full-text primary sources and commentary on international commercial arbitration, including investment arbitration. Primary sources include case law, conventions, legislation, and bilateral investment treaties.
  • Where to find: International Business: A Guide to Library Research > International Trade Law
• TradeLawGuide: This is a comprehensive and helpful research tool for World Trade Organization law and international trade. It includes full text WTO documents, negotiation history, and annotations, and provides highly sophisticated research features that allow users to search all documents across the platform.
  • Where to find: International Business: A Guide to Library Research > International Trade Law
• WorldTradeLaw.net: A go-to source for searchable full-text GATT/WTO panel reports, legal texts, dispute settlement commentaries, and other documents.
  • Where to find: International Business: A Guide to Library Research > International Trade Law

As with all of our other databases, you can also find these on our A-Z list of databases.