LibGuides: Legislative History: A Guide to Library Research: Books

Books at Thompson Library (Online & Print)

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
1923-present. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, and contains an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro & con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Congress A to Z: An Encyclopedia of Congress
Call Number: Main Collection JK 1067 .C67 1988
ISBN: 0871874474
Publication Date: 1988
CIS Index, 1984-2003 Legislative Histories Annual by Congressional Information Service, Inc. Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection Z 1223 .Z7 C61
ISBN: 0886920884
Index and Abstract volumes from 1972 - 2003.
Legislative History volume from 1984 - 2003.
The American Political Dictionary by Jack C. Plano; Milton Greenberg
Call Number: Reference Collection JK 9 .P55 1997
ISBN: 0030173175
Publication Date: 1996
Federal Domestic Outlays, 1983-1990 by Kenneth N. Bickers; Robert M. Stein; James P. McGough
Call Number: Main Collection HJ 275 .B47 1991
ISBN: 087332840X
Publication Date: 1992
Federal Legislative Histories by Bernard D. Reams; Survey Research Consultants International, Inc. Staff
Call Number: Reference Collection KF 42.2 1994 .R4
ISBN: 0313230927
Publication Date: 1994
This annotated bibliography covers Congressional, executive agency, and special commission sources from 1862 through 1990. The 257 entries provide information about the scope and content of the documents, the locations, the titles and popular names of the bills and laws, and other information about relevant bills.
US Code, Annotated by West Publishing Company
Call Number: Reference Collection KF 62 1927 .W45
The full text of the United States Code, with added information for each section (annotations, references, notes). Updated with pocket parts through 2017
United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN) by Thomson / West Publishing Company
Call Number: Reference Collection JK 11 .U58
Publication Date: 1959-2017
Covers Statutes at Large, including: Full text of Public Laws; Popular Name Tables; Brief Legislative History per Public Law; full text of selected Committee Reports; Notation in Legislative History section regarding Congressional Record and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents.
CQ Historic Documents by Congressional Quarterly, Inc
Call Number: Main Collection E 839.5 .H57 (print version)
Covers 1972 onwards (online), 1972-1981 (print).

Useful Government Books

Budget of the United States of America
Available in pdf for fiscal years 1996 to the present.