LibGuides: Social Work: A Guide to Library Research: Grant and Funding Information

Grants and Funding Information

Pivot This link opens in a new window
Directory of researchers & funding opportunities combining COS Funding Opportunities & COS Scholar Universe.
Pivot is a directory of researchers and research funding opportunities that combines two comprehensive, editorially maintained databases: the COS Funding Opportunities database of over 400,000 funding opportunities worth an estimated $33 billion, and the COS Scholar Universe database of 3 million profiles of scholars worldwide. Its proprietary algorithm compiles pre-populated researcher profiles unique to an organization (such as University of Michigan) and matches them to relevant current funding opportunities. Searching for a given scholar will link to matching funding opportunities. Updated continuously.

Note: Access to personalized features requires personal registration and login. COS Pivot replaces the former COS Expertise service.
Grants.gov This link opens in a new window
Funding opportunities from grant-making federal agencies, including the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and the Department of Defense.
SAM.gov This link opens in a new window
The System for Award Management, and new platform for the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA); it contains detailed program descriptions for 2,226 Federal assistance programs.
SAM provides detailed, public descriptions of federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals.
Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Profiles of U.S.-based foundations, describing programs, areas of funding, types of support, recent grants made, etc.
Profiles over 105,000 U.S.-based foundations, describing programs, areas of funding, types of support, geographic emphasis, trustees & officers, application process, deadlines, high, low & average grants, and lists of recent grants made. Also provides access to recent tax returns for private foundations as submitted to the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (Form 990-PF's). Updated biweekly.
GuideStar This link opens in a new window
Financial data for over 1.5 million nonprofit organizations in the United States.
GuideStar offers financial data for over 1.5 million nonprofit organizations in the United States. Data includes revenue tables, expense tables, and balance sheets; organization overview (mission, audience, etc.); annual reports, lists of officers and other key personnel, and access to IRS 990 Forms (typically all available forms since 1997). Users can search this database by keyword and by information such as geographic location, type of nonprofit, IRS Subsection (501(c)3, etc.), and NTEE (National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities) codes.
A personal account with your @umich.edu email is required to download from Guidestar. Downloads are limited to 1,000 records per month.