LibGuides: World History: A Guide to Library Research: Asian History

Journals & Scholarly Publications

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
1900-present. Systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.

Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

China and the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Digital archives of English-language periodicals published in, or about, China.
Includes these files:

Missionary, Sinology and Literary Periodicals, 1817-1949: A collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in, or about, China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until 1949 when the People's Republic of China was founded. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911-1949), when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic with modern approaches to politics, literature, education, public morality, and intellectual life.

Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China (1854-1949): Official correspondence, despatches, reports, memoranda, and private and confidential letters - constitute invaluable and often unique evidence of Chinese life, the economy and politics through the Taiping Rebellion, the Boxer Rebellion, the Revolution of 1911, the May 30 Movement, the two Sino-Japanese Wars, and the Chinese Civil War.
History Collections (Brill Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Collections of primary sources in Asian, Latin American, Middle Eastern & Islamic, Slavic, Jewish, Religious, and general historical studies.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Foreign Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from Great Britain, India, Israel, France, China, Spain, and Canada. They can be searched together or separately.
Includes these titles:
- ABC (Spain) (1903-2010)
- The Guardian and The Observer (1791 - 2003)
- Hindustan Times (1924-2000)
- Jerusalem Post (1932 - 2008)
- Le Monde (1944 - 2000)
- South China Morning Post (1903 - 2001)
- Calgary Herald (1883-2010)
- Leader-Post (Regina, Saskatchewan) (1883-2010)
- Montreal Gazette (1785 - 2010)
- Vancouver Sun (1912 - 2010)
- Windsor Star (1893 - 2010)

Archives and Primary Sources

Adam Matthew Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Digital primary collections sourced from around the world.
Tips for using this collection are available in the Adam Matthew Digital Help Centre.

Includes these collections:
- African American Communities
- Age of Exploration
- America in World War Two
- American History
- American Indian Histories and Cultures
- American West
- Apartheid South Africa, 1948 - 1980
- Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922
- Children's Literature and Culture
- China, America and the Pacific
- China: Culture and Society
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture
- Church Missionary Society
- Colonial America
- Confidential Print: Africa
- Confidential Print: Latin America
- Confidential Print: North America
- Defining Gender
- Early Modern England
- East India Company
- Eighteenth Century Drama
- Eighteenth Century Journals
- Empire Online
- Everyday Life and Women in America
- First World War
- Food and Drink
- Foreign Office Files for China
- Foreign Office Files for India
- Foreign Office Files for Japan
- Foreign Office Files for South East Asia
- Foreign Office Files for the Middle East
- Frontier Life
- Gender Identity and Social Change
- Gilded Age
- Global Commodities
- India, Raj and Empire
- J Walter Thompson: Advertising America
- Jewish Life in America c.1654-1954
- Leisure, Travel & Mass Culture
- Life at Sea
- Literary Manuscripts Berg
- Literary Manuscripts Leeds
- Literary Print Culture
- London Low Life
- Macmillan Cabinet Papers
- Market Research and American Business
- Mass Observation Online
- Medical Services and Warfare
- Medieval Family Life
- Medieval Travel
- Meiji Japan
- Migration to New Worlds
- Nineteenth Century Literary Society: The John Murray Publishing Archive
- Perdita Manuscripts
- Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
- Race Relations in America
- Research Source - AS:China and Southeast Asia
- Research Source - AS:India
- Research Source - AS:Japan
- Research Source - Business, Economic and Labour History
- Research Source - CMS
- Research Source - Empire
- Research Source - Literary Studies
- Research Source - Medieval and Early Modern Studies
- Research Source - Missionary Studies
- Research Source - Women's Studies
- Research Source - World War Two Studies
- Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
- Service Newspapers of World War 2
- Shakespeare In Performance
- Shakespeare's Globe Archive
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
- Socialism on Film: The Cold War
- The Grand Tour
- The Nixon Years
- Trade Catalogues and the American Home
- Travel Writing
- Victorian Popular Culture
- Victorians on Film
- Virginia Company Archives
- Women in the National Archives
- Worlds Fairs
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Guide to historical records, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world
Contains nearly a million collection descriptions contributed by thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. A combination of brief descriptions derived from catalog records in the RLG Union Catalog, and more detailed archival finding aids harvested from the Internet, including those that conform to the EAD (Encoded Archival Description) format standard.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Digital primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.
Primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more from around the world, including from national libraries, academic and public libraries, and a variety of special collections, archives, and repositories.

Currently contains four collections:
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
- British Politics and Society
- British Theatre, Music and Literature: High and Popular Culture
- European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection